OPEN TODAY: 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Mon 9:30 am - 7:00 pm
Tue 9:30 am - 7:00 pm
Wed 9:30 am - 7:00 pm
Thu 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Fri 9:30 am - 9:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Sun 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
print
  • To David Jones
Departments available at David Jones Market Street:

Mens Fashion
Mens Shoes & Accessories
Homewares
Small Electrical Appliances
Large Appliances
Home Entertainment
Furniture
Gourmet & Confectionery
Foodhall

Reviews of David Jones

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • MzEvo   23 reviews
    I went to the Elizabeth Arden counter for an exchange as the staff from Miranda was terrible and sold me a product i wasn't 100% with and didn't even do the right thing by testing it on my face.

    Initially the guy at the counter in the CBD store annoyed me because he was checking that i didn't open the product and didn't believe me when i said i didn't open it. He ended up opening the box despite the fact that i had bought the product only the 2 days ago and it was still sealed. Turns out the guy was an Elizabeth Arden rep (a visitor) but surprisingly he knew exactly what i wanted and matched my colour (foundation) perfectly! i was so impressed with the results and then he applied gloss and blush to touch up since i was heading back to the office. I am really impressed at the difference in the level of service, attention to detail and how amazing the colour looks on me.

    Best colour i have ever had and i have been using Elizabeth Arden for years and have stuck to the same colour all these years. Shame this guys travels from store to store, after a rocky start he turned out to be amazing.

    5 months ago - 10/02/2014

  • review-88   7 reviews
    Outstanding food hall! Lots of gourmet food - seafood, fruit and veg, fresh pasta, butcher, delicatessen, bakery, fresh juices and so on! There are even places to eat such as the sushi bar and the grill. Highly recommend!!!

    6 months ago - 16/01/2014

  • R_E_V_I_E_W_E_R_1 Local Star   396 reviews
    A very gourmet food hall! They sell an array of expensive and quality goods. You can visit for lunch or buy some fresh goods for dinner (such as fresh pasta sauce). They also stock an extensive range of pantry items such as nice chutneys, caramelised balsamic vinegar and so on. We like to pick up a few bits and pieces for Christmas presents for hard-to-buy-for relatives each year.

    6 months ago - 31/12/2013

  • Tiaraaaaa Local Star   714 reviews
    The David Jones Food Hall as a whole is a fabulous array of gourmet delights and fantastic time pass, but if you are after a casual sit down lunch with a friend check out the menu for Grill Bar. The seating is designed in a half circle whereby customers can watch as professional chefs grill their steak to medium rare perfection or lamb shanks served up on a bed of fluffy mashed potato accompanied with a glass of white. Great for a once in a while treat or catch up with a friend but the only downfall is there is limited seating so there is little encouragement to hang around for a chat and more eat and go. Best to pop by around the 12pm lunch timeslot to secure a seat.

    7 months ago - 28/11/2013

  • Tiaraaaaa Local Star   714 reviews
    Wow, wow, wow!! The DJs Food Hall is an amazing assortment of quality where you can select from a range of fresh produce, indulge in large chocolate coated strawberries, treat yourself (or someone special) to a delectable tart or cake from the Bakery, peruse the Seafood - Oyster Bar or Butcher for something nice for dinner, pick up a box of truffles or a bottle of wine from the cellar or simply pop in and grab some lunch during your break. Around lunchtime it does get quite crowded but the efficiency of the staff ensures to get you moving on your way in no time. Yes, as expected the prices are slightly higher than your average grocer but you pay for quality and you won't be disappointed.

    7 months ago - 27/11/2013

  • Joanne Lee Phin Local Star   337 reviews
    My favourite department store for a variety of reasons. I love the food hall where we often get our meat. The guys there are passionate about food and are great at providing suggestions or advice. Another favourite section is the womens handbags section at the Elizabeth Street section. I recently also received great service from the assistant at the travel section who not only helped with a choice of a toiletry bag and travel wallet, but also recommended a great tapas spot in Barcelona - Cerveceria Catalana, in case you were wondering.
  • beanboy Area Expert   309 reviews
    The shopping is the best here, all the top names for men and women, but you must check out the food court underneath the Mens section. Its a great place for lunch in the CBD, purchasing a gift or if you want to purchase decent quality produce (much better than what's in your typical supermarket). The fruit section is amazing, as is their delicatessen and meat section
  • Ben Ellen   10 reviews
    Last weekend we were shopping for a wedding party outfits - the guy serving at the Saba men's area was great! Very efficient at making sure all sizes were out and ready to try, matching things together for everybody and was genuinely interested in achieving the look we were after! Great service! He also made sure we signed up to Saba to benefit from club discounts - and gave tips on what else we would need.
    A very positive experience.
  • Cee Zee Local Star   278 reviews
    Tonight I had the best experience I have ever had in the David Jones Homewares department for a long time. Firstly I was pleasantly surprised to find the sheets that I had wanted marked down by 30%. The sales assistant also helped me pick out a matching doona cover to go with my new sheets. When I mentioned that I liked some out of stock European pillow cases, she quickly found a store that had them so she could order them in for me. Also she has made sure that I will still get 30% off the pillow cases even after the sales ends this weekend. She was very friendly and helpful. This is something you dont often experience in this section of David Jones. Normally you have to struggle to find someone to help you out and its a chore for them to talk to you. Not only did I get great value from my purchase but also had a pleasant customer experience for a department store.
  • Liv 2011   9 reviews
    FOOD HALL: Christmas 2010 I was given 2 David Jones gift cards I bought shoes, dress, shirt, groceries and dinner out and coffee + delicious pastries. David Jones Food Hall is one of the best departments Sydney has to offer. Its underground Market and Castlereagh Streets, its fancy, its not too crowded, its delicious, international yet has a local market feel. So once Id had enough of shoes and dresses a girl needs to eat. Dinner at the Noodle Bar one night and the Grill Bar the next week. I love the Noodle Bar, I dont mind waiting in line the smells and dishes get the mouth watering. There is a limited selection of dishes and wine by the glass, but enough. Everyone looks at everyone elses meals what are they having? what stir fry is that? Its cooked in minutes, fresh, hot and the portions are generous. Its not one of those places where you know you have to eat before hand dont eat for hours before dining at the high chairs of the David Jones Food Hall. The Grill Bar was another high top, high flying dining destination down low! The steak sandwich with a glass of pinot noir do I really need to say much more I couldnt really ask for much more. Trust me team when I come across a bad steak sandwich, Sydney will know about but no complaints from the Grill Bar. The medium rare steak was cooked how it should be and the service from across the countertop was attentive and friendly fast paced Noodle Bar service was the same. Must be David Jones thing!
    Picked up a basket of groceries for dinner okay, so it may possibly be the most expensive place to buy bread, ham, cheese, olives a coffee and fruit but the gift card was there to be spent and so I did!

More Department Stores near Sydney, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd     •    Privacy Policy      •    Staff Guidelines      •    Terms & Conditions      •    View mobile site