OPEN TODAY: 11:00 am - 2:30 pm / 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wed 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Fri 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sun 11:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
print
  • To Din Tai Fung

Sydney's dumpling heaven!

Din Tai Fung can be defined as a dumpling heaven and is the legendary Taipei-based global chain, with outlets from Los Angeles to Jakarta.

All restaurants in nearly every city are extremely popular and require booking or a lot of patients in the queue.

The huge menu can be daunting, but generally takes the fear away with the helpful pictures inside.

The service at Din Tai Fung is professional and extremely friendly.

Reviews of Din Tai Fung

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • MzEvo   37 reviews
    This was my first experience at a dumplings restaurant.

    I honestly don't see what the fuss is about for a restaurant that is purely dedicated to dumplings. If you want to have a coronary over dumplings then this is the place for you but if you are like me and get bored of one thing and need a variety other than dumplings then don't go here. Otherwise you will eat dumplings til you are blue in the face!!!

    I guess you just have to be a real foodie and a trend follower of food crazes such as what some ppl are with this place.

    2 weeks ago - 14/08/2014

  • chopsticks Local Star   128 reviews
    Din Tai Fung is undoubtedly the best dumpling joint in Sydney and perhaps the world! I can easily consume a dozen of their Xiao Long Bao with its delicate thin skin and warm porky broth on the inside. I have tried my share of these soupy dumplings across Sydney and have yet to find one that betters DTF's thin delicate dumpling wrappers. The pork dumplings are not cheap at 4 pieces for $5.80, but they are a worthwhile treat. My other favourites are the crab meat and roe with pork dumplings and shrimp and pork shao mai. Be warned though - it can be pricey to fill up on just these dumplings.

    4 months ago - 01/05/2014

  • samantha_s Local Star   84 reviews
    It can be quite a wait to get in but the dumplings are ohh sooo good. The xiao long bow are the best I've had - in fact, this was the first time I've experience dumplings with soup on the inside... that's right - the inside! The restaurant has a card on the table showing you how to eat them with step by step instructions beside the vinegar and soy sauce. Delicious!

    5 months ago - 31/03/2014

  • ChowTime   28 reviews
    A couple colleagues and I went to Din Tai Fung for lunch last week. It was my first time and after all the rave reviews I had heard about this place, my expectations were pretty high. I can confirm that their signature dish, xiao long bao (pork dumplings) is an absolute winner - hot and fresh, soupy and tasty. Another winning dish was their vegetable and wonton with tangy sauce - loved the sauce. I think the prices are slightly higher compared to other similar restaurants and the range is more on the limited side. The next time I return, I'm quite certain I'll just order a heap of pork dumplings and make a meal out of it.

    6 months ago - 21/02/2014

  • atan7 Local Star   792 reviews
    I am always allured by the promise of fresh, soupy dumplings and this is one of the most popular franchises in the world. However I always leave a little hungry as the portions are small and the dishes are quite expensive. We came here with an e-book and we were only told when we were paying our bill that the 'special' dishes weren't eligible for our 25% off voucher. I didn't mind paying but I felt this should have been stipulated up front.
  • Easternian Local Star   622 reviews
    Din Tai Fung is pretty much the global trendsetter for the latest high-end Shanghai craze, and what makes it long lasting is their ever consistent and always delicious food offerings.

    You can almost never go wrong with your order. Their xiao long bao (pork dumpling) is globally known and has won many awards, so you cannot go pass it. Also, a lot of my friends like their fried rice with chicken fillet which in itself can serve as a simple lunch meal.

    On my last visit, my friend asked me to try their spicy noodle and it was delightful it has just enough hotness to make it exciting yet still gives the other flavour to work towards a distinctive taste.

    If you are a food adventurer, try the drunken chicken served cold as a beautiful entre and great opener for your palate. Also try the silken tofu and century egg served with pork floss and soya sauce this dish is as authentic as you can go with its full-on strong flavour, and even made better with high quality tofu and beautifully prepared century eggs that just melt in your mouth.

    Please be aware that they have strict booking and seating policy (you will need everyone in your party to arrive before they take you to your seat). Also ask for a basket to put your things to avoid the strong vinegar smell on your belongings.
  • Debbie Stone   9 reviews
    One of the best place in town for dumplings!! Go the xiao loong bao!!! Quick and fast service. Great!
  • bondisurfer   8 reviews
    Love it. They can be busy at lunch, meaning you might have to share tables, although the dinner wait is not too long. Lovely xiao loong bao and all varieties of dumplings. Has to be once of the best dumpling places I have been to in Sydney. For dessert, the red bean and taro buns are also warm, sweet and soft - all good things.
  • Sasapeng   2 reviews
    Overpriced and ordinary. Don't even recommend it.
  • werxj Local Star   657 reviews
    As recommended, we arrived early before the restaurant opened and people are already queuing. Especially loved the avocado juice, pork dumpling (xiaoLongBao) and the cha jiang noodle! Service is professional.
  • charisse kingston   2 reviews
    Excellent resturant been quite a few times and the food just keeps getting better.
  • David Linke   6 reviews
    We have been going here for years. Now I review it. Superb. Thats why we keep going back. An very enjoyable dining experience, but be patient, no reservations taken.
  • Timothy Chan   4 reviews
    To think, an Asian only just now trying the dumplings at Din Tai Fung. The dumplings freakin' good (um... duh!). Interesting way to eat them (there are directions at each table) with the soup steaming on the inside. I also like that we can see the chefs at work making them. My wife and I went on a Sat. night and the wait was about 45mins. The staff is very efficient and attentive. A good place to take out-of-towners as it's located in the heart of Sydney.
  • taytaye   6 reviews
    Din Tai Fung is so great! They are clean, fresh and delicious!! Best dumplings and if you get there 15 minutes before they open, you have no problem getting a table and they seat you on time :) Be prepared to wait though if you come anywhere after the first 20 minutes of opening though, people love this place !
  • Joanne Lee Phin Local Star   337 reviews
    Of all the places in Sydney that you can get xiao long bao (that I know of), they do the best job. I like the thin delicate pastry they use for their dumplings and I find them "soup-ier" than what you get at the other restaurants.

    You will usually have to wait for a table but if your entire party gets there by 6:30 you're likely to get a table within minutes.

    Service is friendlier than your average chinese restaurant (hey, just saying it like it is), but don't expect to be blown away.

    I wouldn't come here for a special occasion, but it's one of our favourite quick-dinner-after-work choices.
  • tictacworm   16 reviews
    Amazing food! The best dumplings ever!
  • WeenieM Local Star   90 reviews
    Great place for dumplings and wontons yum! You need to get there early at lunch time though because despite it being a very large restaurant it fills up very quickly!! You get a lot of food for great prices too. I like the way you order yourself by ticking what you'd like on a menu.
  • simonc22 Local Star   140 reviews
    Very good Yum Cha.There's always a wait here, mayb becuase it's a famous international brand. You order from a card on the table, which i don't think is as fnu as the trolleys in traditional Sydney Yum Cha, but still a great restuarant.
  • Pete S   41 reviews
    Best dumplings ever, I don't know how they keep the juice inside those things everything is good here spicy wonton noodles and pork buns to mention a couple, but its the dumplings that are the star in this place. there is a protoco lhere though so take someone who knows what they are doing.
  • MandMs   75 reviews
    Gotta wait for good food and this place rocks! Delicious dumplings but a little pricey. We figured $20 per head would do us but that wasn't quite enough to get us satisfied. Expect to factor in closer to $30 per head if you really want a good fill of dumplings. Service was what we expected in a Chinese style setting - curt and to-the-point and no pandering, so you have to order quick. In case you wonder how the dumplings are made, peer through the window to the kitchen. Don't know how they get the soup inside the dumplings? Now you know.

Restaurants

Cuisine

Chinese Asian Fusion

More Restaurants near Sydney, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site