OPEN TODAY: 9:00 am - 2:00 am
Mon 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Tue 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Wed 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Thu 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Fri 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 9:00 am - 2:00 am
Sun 9:00 am - 2:00 am
print
  • To East Ocean Restaurant

Cantonese Restaurant in central Sydney

East Ocean Restaurant is located in Sydney's Chinatown precinct and its large room with Chinese panels on the walls, red patterned carpet and cushioned seats gives way to a busy and friendly atmosphere mixed with authentic Cantonese cuisine. Enjoy the trolleys of steamed and deep fried dumplings, Dim Sum, rice and noodle plates and rolls, barbequed meats and more on the lunchtime Yum Cha trolleys. The restaurant specialises in live seafood which can be enjoyed with the extensive dinner menu. The restaurant is open for bookings and large functions with a banquet meal. The venue is licensed though BYO wine is also accepted and takeaway is available.

Reviews of East Ocean Restaurant

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • AlgaeForBrains   13 reviews
    Oh man... everybody loves this joint and so do I.

    Being Asian myself, I don't really like Asian food much. Been eating it my whole life, get's boring but East Ocean is the bomb. My fam go every so often and it's never ever disappointed.

    Service is great, atmosphere is...well... Asian. BUT GOOD! decorated really nicely, it's clean, there are fish tanks to occupy the rugrats while you stuff your face with authentic Asian dishes you'd actually be really hard-pressed to find anywhere else, even in Chinatown.

    ALSO! East Ocean is the home of MANGO-FRIKKIN-PANCAKES! DUDE! Go to east ocean and order like... HUNDREDS of mango pancakes you will regret nothing. mango pancakes by the hunnids, son. You will quit whatever substance you are addicted to now and mango pancakes with be your new vice. (unless you don't like mango or you're just straight up against enjoying life).

    Anyway, East Ocean is probably one of the best Chinese restaurants around, even Chinese people think so. For real.

    They're also pretty accommodating for functions which is kinda cool methinks.

    1 week ago - 12/11/2014

  • vwhite   12 reviews
    Great food and good service. I loved the chicken in sweet and sour sauce - that's always my favourite and first choice when I visit Chinese restaurant, but this one stands out.

    9 months ago - 18/02/2014

  • Scott Ernest   9 reviews
    Tasty dumplings, nice atmosphere, similar to other chinese restaurants. Everyone was raving about the Yum Cha at this place so we ordered that, I guess the demand is huge and it was a bit delayed, but overall worth the wait!

    9 months ago - 13/02/2014

  • russellt85   4 reviews
    Loved the yum cha! Good prices, service was a little slow.

    9 months ago - 01/02/2014

  • Marrie Newbie   2 reviews
    Loved yum cha

    9 months ago - 31/01/2014

  • Abbey Smith   22 reviews
    Overall not bad, the food was okay, but we waited very long for the meal to arrive. When it finally did, it seemed a bit re-heated. Nevertheless the food is affordable, the staff are polite and kind of chatty and funny. The atmosphere is busy, but nice, when not too noisy, but most chinese restaurants I've been to are like this so..

    9 months ago - 31/01/2014

  • TaylaMacandie Newbie   2 reviews
    I like the dumplings there. They're tasty and the ingredients seem to be fresh.
    The atmosphere is pleasant, sometimes it is a bit noisy at the East Ocean restaurant, but I almost never get wound about such small things.
    The King crabs are delicious and when I'm planning to order them the next weekend.

    10 months ago - 13/01/2014

  • LiamLife   21 reviews
    a chinese style restaurant with healthy foods in the list inside. came here with my brother before he moved to another house. we enjoyed much our dinner because of the foods served by the staffs.
  • Gary humble   3 reviews
    absolute favorite of mine, great food, love how the staff are super friendly and funny, my wicked weekend treat!
  • Phil 555   14 reviews
    This was the best place to go for yum cha in Sydney but they stopped bringout out trolleys. They now say that they make food to order but the fried dishes are soggy on the bottom and the steamed dishes stick. They seem to cook most of it in the late morning and reheat as required. What a shame
  • Sarah Jones-Walsh   5 reviews
    Awesome yum cha:)
  • Just G   3 reviews
    Sounds like a bit of a hit or miss but i thought their service and food was GREAT. One of my favourite restaurants to eat now.
  • jackyfav Newbie   1 review
    What a disappointing experience. I took my friends (from Italy) here on the basis of a well know food critic for one of the best Yum Cha.

    Absolutely worst service I have experienced.The service was horrendous, we ordered suckling pig with jelly fish, steamed kai-lan and a bowl of rice, 40 minutes for food to arrive with only one dish and no vegetables or rice, when we finished and asked for the bill I mentioned about the rice and the vegetables, they simply walked away to get them.

    When the bill came the problem began. The restaurant tried to charge me $22 for the bowl of kai-lan (chinese broccoli). As the wait staff had disappeared I requested the senior staff. I explained the situation and instead of discussing it they became rude.

    Staff were unhelpful and stood around either laughing or yawning.
    I was incredibly insulted considering the fact a scene was made and they were treating me like a senseless person.

    Never again will I go back to this restaurant.
  • Mathew Albert   2 reviews
    One of my favourite places, that's for sure.
    Been here few times and this restaurant got my nicely surprised. Atmosphere is just great, the staff being friendly, polite and welcoming improve it even more.
    The food is outstanding, big and delicious dishes, a wide selection in the menu. There's a little thing that bothers me a bit, and that's the place is pretty busy, so it may get hard to book a table, but that's understandable, after all this restaurant is the best!
    Last, but not least, prices are reasonable so that's not something to worry about. Highly recommended!
  • Rachel.1   2 reviews
    Often very busy but the service is great. Highly recommended to eat here, it's delicious.
  • Laura_1   4 reviews
    Great staff, really friendly and the food was great
  • NeilRhoton   3 reviews
    An amazing experience. Service was excellent, food was excellent and the atmosphere was classic. Would recommend this to everyone
  • SmithG   2 reviews
    Fiends invited us as part of some special event. Duck was hard to find, lobster 'old and tough' no taste, prawns were OK, rice was shocking. Overall disappointed. Ordered coffees at 9am to be told they ran out of milk... Great effort, too lazy to stroll 20 meters to a seven 11 to get some. Wouldn't return to this place.
  • 1nik1   33 reviews
    I went for yamcha with my family on weekend. The place is very busy. But the food is nice and I guess it worth for the wait.
  • Tinaeuston   2 reviews
    Great food and service. Love spending my lunch break there. And it's quite affordable I must say.

All Cards Accepted

Restaurants

Dining Options

Take-Away Eat-in Functions

Cuisine

Chinese

Price Guide

Mains under $50

Licensing

Licensed and BYO

Menu

Lunch Dinner

More Restaurants near Haymarket, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site