OPEN TODAY: 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tue 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wed 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
print
  • To Gelato Messina

'The most beautiful gelato in Sydney'

Gelato Messina uses all natural ingredients in their gelato, the way it should be. Since opening in 2002 on Darlinghurst's Victoria Street, Gelato Messina has been drawing in the locals and visitors alike with their tasty take on gelato. They also supply gelato cakes.

--TrueLocal description--
Over 40 flavours of ice cream with a cool street vibe. Join the crowd out on the pavement for your sweet fix.

Reviews of Gelato Messina

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • ChowTime   36 reviews
    Love Messina's weekly flavours - such great combinations to delight the senses, both in taste and textures.

    1 month ago - 05/09/2014

  • Kenny Chan Newbie   2 reviews
    Cool flavours. $12 for 5 scoops is pretty reasonable in this day and age. Ideal location, relaxed cafe-style. Love their balls (ice cream) and their wafers.

    2 months ago - 27/07/2014

  • BenOstrman   3 reviews
    After trying few gelato places, I'd say they are above average. I have been to better places before.

    5 months ago - 01/05/2014

  • saralin357   3 reviews
    Excellent gelato

    8 months ago - 11/02/2014

  • Eisha   6 reviews
    It seems like the possibilities at Messina are endless! You can go wherever your tastebuds and your imagination desire, with so many amazing flavours to pick and mix from. My personal favourites amongst the staples are salted caramel and white chocolate, dulce de leche, tiramisu and pistachio, but then they roll out the daily specials and it's one of the toughest decisions you'll ever have to make! So avoid this dilemma and do what I do...eat nothing else before you get to Messina and nothing else after and allocate your complete daily calorie intake to Messina gelato! The Darlinghurst store also sells the most intricate and wonderful cakes, just perfect for a special occasion or just to have all to yourself! You may have to wait a few minutes to get your gelato fix because they get super busy (understandably) but you won't be disappointed. There are a few tables and chairs if you want to have your gelato there (this way you can go back for seconds or thirds) or you can have it to go and even take a tub home with you. I've had so much gelato in my life, from all over the world and I feel so lucky that the best I've had is right here at home in Sydney...you can't go wrong :)
  • Easternian Local Star   656 reviews
    If you want to find out where all of these gelato craze began, then there is no better place to visit than the original Gelato Messina store at Darlinghurst. Although the store is pretty small and often packed with crowds and accessorized with queues, it is definitely worth lining up. You can hardly go wrong with their gelatos, and if you are more of a cautious person, you can ask for a sample before you commit to your selections.

    The service is very quick, and with (limited) seats available both inside and outside, enjoying your awesome gelato in its intended Darlinghurst-esque atmosphere is certainly a breeze.

    Dont forget to also visit their gelato cakes next door, where you can witness a showcase of gelato cakes being made right in front of your eyes, which are also available for purchase for your family, loved ones, or even for yourself.

    Getting to this store might require a little walk from either sides of Oxford Street or William Street (or Kings Cross Station), whilst finding a parking spot in the area can also be challenging at times
  • jingobingo Newbie   1 review
    Delish! The best Jerry, the best!!!
  • Fi M   90 reviews
    Gelato Messina bombe Alaska cake was amazing! Can't wait to return to try more delicious gelato treats
  • DMWatkins   5 reviews
    Love all the new weekly flavors. awesome place to go!!!
  • Cait_   3 reviews
    They sell the best gelato I have ever tasted (so far), the dulce de leche and Elvis the Fat Years are my favourites so far. Definitely wanting to try more of their limited edition flavours!
  • JS&MS Newbie   1 review
    Salted Caramel - the most delectable of delcatable gelati flavours. Always worth the wait
  • LocalGuy83   38 reviews
    Delicious food that does not look all that ordinary. The concept of creating gelato into different shapes and other foods is a great idea. The fact that you don't have to go to a fancy restaurant to get is even better.
    It is a great novelty and should be experienced at least once...
  • beanboy Area Expert   309 reviews
    For the past 4 months I've been here at least once a week, and never been disappointed. The flavors are either amazing or great. Don't be disturbed by the queues, you won't be waiting long.
    Make sure you check out the specials board!!!!

    And now they have a shop on Crown Street Surry Hills
  • snvs   54 reviews
    BEST.GELATO.IN.TOWN
    The salted caramel + white chocolate blew my mind. Tasted exactly as I'd hoped it would. The chocolate fondant is the best chocolate I've ever had. We were in Sydney for 2 nights and both nights we went there after dinner for a sweet treat. It was packed with people both nights but the lines move quickly so we didn't have to wait more than 2 mins.
    The music was pumping and everyone was enjoying their gelato, it sounds like a club pumping as you walk towards it, such a great atmosphere! They're very good at what they do.
  • sarah.co   2 reviews
    Best gelato in Sydney!
    The hazelnut is just heaven
  • beanboy Area Expert   309 reviews
    I have been to this place over 20 times and cannot falter the gelato. There is always a queue in the evening and just shows how many people like this place. My favorites and must try's would have to be pear and rhubarb, Manoffee Pie and the Apple Crumble. HEAVEN
  • siros   23 reviews
    This has got to be the best Gelato in Sydney. Heaps of flavours to choose from with reasonable prices to go with it. My personal favourite is the Bounty flavoured Gelato which tastes exactly like the chocolate bar. Long queues most of the time but definitely worth the wait, highly recommended!
  • Pete S   41 reviews
    This has to be the best ice cream in Sydney, the gelato is awesome too, everyone loves this place, there is a line most nights but the line moves pretty quick and the wait is well worth it, love the apple pie and the bounty tastes exactly like a bounty chocolate bar. do yourself a favour and try this place.
  • WeenieM Local Star   90 reviews
    I think I'm the only person in Sydney who doesn't really like the gelato here. There is always the biggest line here its crazy - everyone loves it and raves about it! I have never had an amazing stand out gelato from here though. In fact I've had ones I can't finish because they don't taste nice or have a weird texture. Perhaps I'm choosing the wrong flavours?
  • Cee Zee Local Star   278 reviews
    Went here last night and got my usual bounty flavoured gelati but thought I would venture out of my comfort zone with a second scoop of one of the custom flavour. Keeping with the Christmas spirit, I tried the Christmas Pudding flavoured gelati. It was amazing. It actually tasted like a light and creamy version of pudding. I should have bought a tub of it.

    If you love gelati then get down to messina and try it before Christmas as it is a limited edition flavour.

More Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt near Darlinghurst, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site