print
  • To Hugos Manly
Positioned on Manly wharf, enjoy ones of Sydney's most spectacular waterfront locations, while enjoying contemporary Italian cuisine created by celebrity chef Pete Evans.

--TrueLocal description--
Watch your ship come in or at least a ferry at part two of the Evans brothers? Sydney pizza empire. For us, Manly has the edge on the Kings X restaurant. The pizzas served on wooden slabs taste just that little bit better with a dose of salty sea air. While you can have delicious pan-fried prawns or some seriously good spanner crab spaghetti, we say pizza, pizza, pizza! Light with woodfired crispiness, the highlights are the Spinaci with spinach, semi-dried tomato, olives, feta and chilli, and pumpkin, topped with roasted pumpkin, zucchini, sweet and sour onions, gorgonzola and pine nuts. The wine list is long and lush, so leave the car and take a ferry ride home on arguably Sydney?s best sea route.

Reviews of Hugos Manly

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • mins Local Star   432 reviews
    They have a great deal going until September 30th - half price pizzas on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday both lunch and dinner.
  • ryan_7926   3 reviews
    Great location - perfect for having a late lunch with a drink or two in the sun. Highly recommend!

    4 months ago - 12/05/2014

  • joebid   3 reviews
    Awesome location in Manly, looking the ferries! Good food, medium pizzas

    4 months ago - 09/05/2014

  • mins Local Star   432 reviews
    This is our regular girls lunch haunt. Whilst we sometimes have to wait at the bar to get a table they do let us linger all afternoon. Sometimes that means shuffling between tables to accommodate others however they are always so friendly about it we don't mind. We rarely go past the pizzas as they are good to share as a group but I recently had the angel hair tuna pasta and this was delicious.

    5 months ago - 19/03/2014

  • Makeup by Faye   17 reviews
    Hugo's @ Manly In hopes for the sun to come out again, Hippo is dreaming of a place near the water and to go back there again to enjoy the sun, food and drinks of course! ;).

    The place is Hugos Manly located on the wharf side.

    Having worked in the surrounds, Hippo has had many lunch dates and after work drinks at this awesome place. Not too long ago one of my best girls had her birthday celebration there as well.

    The Hippo has also succumbed to dinner and drinks at this particular venue a few times during the winter months as well. It is equally beautiful during the colder months, just being able to sit and take in the spectacular views of Manly in the comfort of heated areas and looking out at the waves. If youre lucky you may even get too see the sunset in the winter on those rare but blessed days that almost feel like summertime.

    They do cocktails the list is fairly priced, over lunches and after work drinks the pizzas are popular.

    Staff are friendly and place is always lively. However due to residents located close by Hugos Manly isnt opened till the wee hours of the morning. But definitely recommend that you pay a visit during the hours that it is open ;)

    Cocktails the Hippo has tried:Pash @ $15 - Absolut Kurrant, Jaggard & Cointreau shaken with passionfruit, apple and grapefruit juice. Served in a martini glass with a sugar rim

    Lychee Martini @ $15 - Beefeater gin, Pariaso lychee liqueur, Lillet Blanc & lychee juice. Stirred with a dash of peach bitters

    Sunset Geisha @ $15 - Wyborowa Rose vodka, Massenez Fraise des Bois, Paraiso lychee liqueur, grapefruit, lychee & fresh passionfruit with a dash of sugar

    They also do jugs @ $36 each, the Hippo has had and highly recommends these in the summer as there is definitely enough to go around between a pair, or even for a trio.

    HUGOS PUNCH Plymouth Gin & Massenez Crme de Pche combined with grapefruit, lime & passionfruit then married with sparkling wine

    WHITE SANGRIA Havana Blanco Rum, St Germain Elderflower & Massenez Pomme Verte mixed with Dolin Vermouth, Sauvignon Blanc & lemonade then infused with apples, strawberries & cucumber

    PIMMS COOLER Plymouth Gin, Pimms No. 1, lemonade & dry ginger ale infused with slices of fresh orange, strawberry, mint & cucumber

    For the foodies, the following pizzas are on Hippos top list.

    For the veg:Garlic pizza bread with sea salt, rosemary, extra virgin olive oil & buffalo mozzarella @ $16Margherita - Roma tomato, buffalo milk mozzarella, Parmesan & fresh basil @ $20Pumpkin - roasted pumpkin, zucchini, sweet & sour onions, gorgonzola & pine nuts @ $24Prosciutto - sliced prosciutto, rocket, tomato, Parmesan & balsamic dressing @ $28

    For the carnivores:Prawn - chilli prawns, roasted capsicum, tomato & salsa verde @ $28Lamb - slow roasted lamb with potato, feta, olives, capsicum, onion & chilli @ $28

    *All pizzas are available gluten free (excluding Italian). A $3 surcharge applies. When they mean chilli it does have a kick to it so wouldnt call it mild!



    Hippos Pluses:Inside & outside seating and can accommodate up to 300If you end up having a few too many or are planning on drinking more than a few on the night all you have to do is catch a ferry and walk into Hugos as it sits on the wharf Run by the Executive Chef and co-owner Pete Evans, you will see his passion for good food and when you visit and take in the awesome atmosphere Entry is free :)

    Hippos minuses:Not a cheap place Not somewhere you can party past 12.30-1am in the morning, due to close residential properties Parking is available but you have to pay for it Last ferry leaves Manly at 12.30am Hippos guesstimate from memory!

    Side NOTE:For those of us who are after a bigger night try Hugos at the Cross, also run by the same group but bigger and much accommodating for the party goers and those looking for a dance or two. There is strict entry and there may be a line if you arrive late. Dress formal and you shouldnt have a problem. But be willing to wait!!

    10 months ago - 24/10/2013

  • Tiaraaaaa Local Star   744 reviews
    On a beautiful, clear blue sky day there is nothing better than relaxing on the ferry over the Manly and stopping by Hugos for a bite to eat. Hugos is located right on the wharf so you are literally almost at the doorstep from the minute you walk off the ferry. The seating is designed to attract customers to sit and enjoy their meal while taking in all the activities and colourful characters happening around you, which in turn provides a chilled out and welcoming atmosphere.The staff, food and location are all beautiful and I can't think of a better spot to sit back, enjoy a pizza and a few drinks with your other half, extended family or friends.
  • ncavallaro   13 reviews
    Great views, great atmosphere, food is really nice as well, little over priced though. From my experiences they are quite busy almost every night and can get pretty noisy. All in all a top place to go!
  • ginger01   4 reviews
    Omg... Had probably the best salad ever at Hugo's manly, it was the fig, buffalo mozzarella, rocket and prosciutto salad with apple balsamic, so good! For a main I had the pork belly pizza and boyf had meatball pizza, there is definitely a reason why they win pizza and cocktail competitions all the time... They now their stuff, good job.
  • Bronnie Pullinger   42 reviews
    I enjoyed a Monday birthday lunch here. A thawing sunny afternoon on the shortest day of the year confirmed Hugos to be a good choice as it faces west. Yes, the view is peaceful, yes the staff are pleasant and attentive but be warned for a girls day out you won't have any funds left for dinner. I would definitely recommend anything in season from the extensive menu.
  • C Sandiego Foodie   60 reviews
    Hugo's Manly is a great place to organise a boozy lunch with friends. An easy and beautiful ferry ride from Circular Quay brings you almost directly to the restaurant. Prime position at Manly Wharf with beautiful views across the harbour, the layout is simple and sleek with plenty of outdoor and indoor seating. The food and drinks are the same deal as Hugo's Kings Cross, with a comprehensive cocktail and drinks menu. I kick-start my afternoon with one of their exceptional espresso martinis. For food, the famous Hugo's pizzas are the obvious choice. The prawn and pumpkin pizzas are my favourites. Hands down. They even do gluten-free pizzas if required. The atmosphere is buzzing with herds of glamorous people enjoying the afternoon breeze. The highlight, however is the sunset. It is absolutely sensational. A very special Sydney experience.

Restaurants

Dining Options

Outdoor Seating Water View Indoor Dining

Cuisine

Italian Pizza/Wood Fired Pizza

Price Guide

Mains under $50 Entrees under $30

Licensing

Licensed

Features

Family Friendly Bar

Menu

Lunch Dinner

Disabled Facilities

Wheel Chair Access

More Restaurants near Manly, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site