OPEN TODAY: 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Mon 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Tue 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Wed 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Thu 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sun 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
print
  • To Jolly Swagman Backpackers

An Exciting Stay Awaits You At Jolly Swagman Backpackers!

Relax with your friends and drink a few beers while the sun sets over the city skyline and Sydney Harbour. Experience Sydney life here at Jolly Swagman Backpackers!

Our owner-operated Backpacker Hostel Accommodation is renowned for being the heart and soul of the Australian Backpacker and Hostel world. We have been proudly giving our customers top of the line hostel accommodation for over 20 years. Rated as a 4-star Backpackers hostel by AAA Tourism, we pride ourselves on our facilities and the level of service that we offer to many travellers. Our efforts to constantly upgrade our hostel and facilities continue as we aim to make your stay with us as exceptional as possible. 

As a backpacker and adventure travel specialist, we cater to the needs of many travellers who want to see the best hostels here in Sydney. The Jolly Swagman Backpackers hostel is open 24 hours to give you the personal service that you deserve. We are also proud of our unrivalled social atmosphere and friendly environment.

At our hostel, you can meet new friends who are also backpackers and with beautiful beaches, shopping centres, nightclubs, and more just within your reach you'll have plenty to do. If you are looking for a range of social activities, then Jolly Swagman Backpackers is the right place for you. Let our hostel give you the greatest accommodation available in Sydney as you rest your tired feet from long walks and your aching muscles from a fun filled day.

We have amazing hostel rooms at cheap backpackers rates so you never have to worry about your budget. Whether you are a backpacker who wants to experience all the fun activities that Sydney can offer or a traveller who wants to escape it all in a peaceful and comfortable room, our hostel has you covered!

Book your stay at our hostel today and get the best hostel accommodation only here at Jolly Swagman Backpackers!

Reviews of Jolly Swagman Backpackers

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • joyjoy2014 Newbie   1 review
    Made many friends at this hostel. The night life in that area is fantastic for people with bars openning through the night.The staff were friendly and helpful!

    8 months ago - 10/03/2014

  • Imran Okha Newbie   1 review
    Had a great time at jolly swagmans. Best hostel iv stayed in during my time in Australia. Was so lucky to stay over the Christmas and new year period. They had a great family feel as they had many different group activities. It was extremely clean and the boiling water tap in the kitchen also had an ice cold water function (no need to refrigerate water). HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Thanks
  • ruthlessparkes Newbie   1 review
    Stayed in this hostel for 4 months in total and love the place. Great for both long termers and short term visitors. Really socialbe hostel, always people to talk too or a night out to go on. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Great location. Safe hostel. Friendly staff.

    9 months ago - 20/02/2014

  • Jemma Yasm Newbie   1 review
    We arrived over Christmas and was booked into a six bedroom door as we were a couple they upgraded us so they could fit more people in the room you could only check in for 2 weeks so the atmosphere was really good because we got to no everyone really well some of the staff were rude but others were awesome only complaint is that the girls bathroom was a little dirty and they close off the seating area at 10.
  • Elizabet38 Newbie   1 review
    Best place in Kings Cross! So welcoming and friendly, will always be my home away from home!!
  • sergio3971 Newbie   1 review
    great hostel and location. would recommend jolly swagman backpackers to anyone :)

    10 months ago - 31/12/2013

  • paulhicks1888 Newbie   1 review
    My time at the hostel was amazing, the staff are very friendly and also remember your name.
    It's not too small and not too big so you really do feel right at home and get to meet and speak to lots of people.

    Location-wise, You're a 2 minute walk from Kings Cross station (which is a short hop to Towns Hall and your link to Sydney). Surrounding the hostel is a big supermarket, restaurants, bars, plenty of ATMs and importantly several travel shops for those backpackers looking for more.

    I would absolutely recommend to anyone!

    10 months ago - 31/12/2013

  • srauenstein Newbie   1 review
    The staff are amazing, they will do practically anything for you and were very helpfull. The location is great, close to everything you need and the places you want to see, plus very close to the train station, you can get anywhere you want. The people you meet are friendly and you will usually end up with a couple new friends by the end of your trip. I highly recommend this hostel to everyone wanting to travel to Sydney.

    11 months ago - 19/12/2013

  • Tracymcauley1990 Newbie   1 review
    The Jollyswagman hostel was my first destination in Sydney having arrived from Asia for the start of my working holiday, friendly staff helped get me set up with my Aussie phone, where to go to get my Tax file number and all of the usual life admin stuff. The hostel itself has a homely feel with a combination of people staying on while working and those passing through on their travels. There is always a fun night out to be had at the Jolly with the entertainment team leading the hostel out to local nightspots with free entry and cheap drinks deals. The facilities are pretty good with a kitchen to cook your own meals although it does get busy at dinner time but apart from that the showers and dorms are clean and comfy. Good location for nights out and a short walk through the botanical gardens into the CBD. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Jollyswagman if you are ever in Sydney.

    11 months ago - 19/12/2013

  • longdiana1983 Newbie   1 review
    The Jollyswagman hostel was my first destination in Sydney having arrived from Asia for the start of my working holiday, friendly staff helped get me set up with my Aussie phone, where to go to get my Tax file number and all of the usual life admin stuff. The hostel itself has a homely feel with a combination of people staying on while working and those passing through on their travels. There is always a fun night out to be had at the Jolly with the entertainment team leading the hostel out to local nightspots with free entry and cheap drinks deals. The facilities are pretty good with a kitchen to cook your own meals although it does get busy at dinner time but apart from that the showers and dorms are clean and comfy. Good location for nights out and a short walk through the botanical gardens into the CBD. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Jollyswagman if you are ever in Sydney.

    11 months ago - 19/12/2013

  • linni Newbie   1 review
    Me and my friend booked Jolly Swagman for three nights and then we switch to a hostel in Bondi. In Bondi we realiced how good we had it at Jolly Swagman so we moved back and stayed there for a mounth!
    We did really enyojed our stay and met alot of new friends.
    Every day the hostel organised activities so you never got bored!
    You also get free breakfast and 60 min wifi.
    The doorms are really cleand and you got your own fridge and safetybox in your own doorm.
    The staff is really nice and helpful and reception is open 24/7!
  • Bajs12345 Newbie   1 review
    Me and my friend stayed at jolly swag man for one month and it's was really the best hostel we went to.
    It is close to all the nice clubs and restaurants . Even cheaper alternatives for backpackers like us...
    The people who stayed there were really nice and friendly and it was a good atmosphere. They offers free breakfast and wifi (60 minutes).
    You can also take the train from kings cross stations to all the beaches and shopping malls.
    It's a clean hostel with a nice and helpful staff!
  • behloulf Newbie   1 review
    The Jolly Swagman is the first backpacker I lived in when I arrived in Australia. It is located in Kings Cross, which is the place to be if you want to party every night or if you just want to live close from the city center. The backpacker street is quiet so you wont be annoyed by the neighborhoods nightlife.

    The people living there are incredibly nice and friendly. You get free breakfast from 7 to 9, good advices from the staff for whatever you need, huge open kitchen, a TV room with bean bags

    The only bad thing is the Internet that you have to pay forYoull get one free hour when youll check in but then youll have to pay.

    But seriously it is a great place to live in!

  • StefanSch Newbie   1 review
    Awesome hostel! the nightlife is very great. YOu also get a lot of vouches from the hostel for free drinks and free entry in some clubs

    the staff is very friendly and help you in every way they can. If you need an advise, just ask them.

    Also the other guests in the hostel were awesome, it is really easy to meet new friends there!

    just go there and enjoy!


  • Brad Smith Newbie   1 review
    this is the best hostel i have stayed at in Australia all the people made me feel very welcome and it is in a great location as your near the bars, shops and near the beach, the staff was excellent, clean rooms and has a television room where you can chill out and meet new people! loved it
  • Dara Newbie   1 review
    Nice clean friendly hostel. Great place for both groups and solo travellers. Always something goin on. Could do with cups in the kitchen but thats about all i can fault it on! highly reccommend it
  • boris83 Newbie   1 review
    awesome hostel, good location (even if it is in kings cross) and clean too. 24hr reception with really friendly staff is great too. could really use a place to drink outside at night.. and more mugs... and some new xbox pads... but its got a great atmosphere and a great social envirnment for meting people and going out for the younger crowd!
  • mlan Newbie   1 review
    Awesome staff and 24 hrs reception. The rooms are pretty clean (especially for king's cross - trust me) and the location is great - only minutes away from the king's cross station and bars. They have organize bar outings during the week if you want to party - or you can just stay in and watch movies on the bean bags. The kitchen could be a little bigger though (more cups).
  • CCLover Newbie   1 review
    Staff members were friendly and helpful, hostel atmosphere was great loved the music playing around dinner time in common area. The hostel is mostly clean. Dorm room cleaning is every second day which is good.

    The location is good, not too far from the city CBD which is excellent. So far this is one of my favourite hostels.

    If I go back to Sydney then we will stay at the Jolly 100%.

Open 24hrs / 7 Days

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site