OPEN TODAY: 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Mon 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Tue 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Wed 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Thu 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sun 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
print
  • To Luc Espace

Luc Espace is an AVEDA lifestyle salon

Enjoy a sensory ritual with each service that combines beauty, well-being
and environmental responsibility.

Each of our guests will receive
a personalised consultation from our team of talented and creative
hairstylists. This building of a relationship will ensure your idea
becomes your image.

Enjoy Aveda products and in particular the wonderful Aveda full spectrum hair colour that is upto 96% naturally derived damage free and fade resistant.

lucespace.com for more information

2013 Finalist New Creative Force
2012 Winner National Colour Harmony Award
2012 Finalist Best Salon Design
2010 Winner Australian Colour Harmony Award
2009 Winner Australian Colour Harmony Award
2008 Winner Australian Colour Harmony Award
2007 Winner Business Of The Year Award
2006 Winner Australian Colour Harmony Award
2006 Winner Most Outstanding Salon Award
2006 Winner Best Salon Design Award
2005 Winner Australian Colour Harmony Award

Reviews of Luc Espace

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • SydneyBlogger   3 reviews
    I recently visited this salon from a recommendation from a friend. I am getting married next April so at the moment I am very picky with who I see as I want my hair to be perfect on my wedding day. I can honestly say I've never had such a lovely experience in a hair salon. The team were so welcoming, I loved the tea they served, the head and shoulder massage, I was even offered a hand massage. I was very happy with both my cut and colour and will definitely be going back. 11 out of 10 for me. Thank you, again.

    1 month ago - 30/07/2014

    • Lucespace Newbie 
      Thankyou SydneyBlogger, your feedback is very much appreciated and i will share it with our team. All the best Luke

      1 month ago - 31/07/2014

      REPORT
  • Realitychq   3 reviews
    The team at Lucespace have always kept my locks in order, whatever my mood and whatever the occasion. I bounce between all locations and always am so happy with the service, vibe and end result . I am often stopped in the street and asked who does my hair and I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending them. I love this place, and you will too!

    *another thing : True local didn't allow me to give an official 5 star rating ... But I do ??????????
    • Lucespace Newbie 
      Thankyou Realitychq, im glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. Look forward to seeing you again in the salon. Regards Luke

      1 month ago - 31/07/2014

      REPORT
  • TN1961 Newbie   1 review
    I first went to this salon in June 2014 at the recommendation of my daughter. She had her hair cut by Hitomi and said that I should try the salon. At this stage the salon was still in the Westfield Shopping Centre in Chatswood. I was looking forward to my colour because the salon looked so lovely on the website and my daughter had a wonderful experience. Unfortunately, I was not impressed by the staff at the front desk. If someone is in a customer facing role, they should at least make eye contact with their customers and show some interest. This staff didnt even look at me. Kept their eye on the computer when looking for my booking and then said "follow me" without looking at me. Put the black robe on me and sat me at my seat all with no interaction at all. At no time did the staff smile and make me feel welcome in that salon. I am now due for another colour and, after careful consideration, have decided not to go back to Tribe Hair. Let's face it, it's an expensive hair salon, and if I'm going to spend that much money, I'd like to feel welcome. I'd like someone to smile and greet me. I'd like to feel a valued customer. I certainly did not feel welcome on my first visit, so I won't be having a second. Also, it's way too expensive. I spent $202 on a 1/2 head of foils and treatment and then you wanted another $55 to blow dry. And then $85 for a cut. I was disappointed with the colour as it faded quickly. I understand about your tiered pricing system and the organic products that you use but I don't think your expensive service was any better than my local hairdresser who is reasonably priced and who also use organic products.

    1 month ago - 29/07/2014

    • Lucespace Newbie 
      Hello TN1961,
      Your review has come through to Luc Espace and I understand you went to Tribe. I will however bring this up with our customer care team. As it is one of the most important areas of the business.
      Our pricing is benchmarked against industry and feel it appropriate for the level of training and development our team receive.
      Trust your concerns have been heard and will be addressed.

      Regards, Luke owner

      1 month ago - 30/07/2014

      REPORT
  • Rosalie30 Newbie   2 reviews
    I've had 2 really great experiences here. But then I had one staff who completely ruined my hair, and messed it up more than I could even imagine possible. I left in tears, and had to spend 10 minutes in the centre bathrooms calming down before going out into public I was so embarrassed. I've died my own hair and had it mess up, but it was still not as bad as what they did to my hair. I have dark blonde hair and get it highlighted/roots a lighter blonde I have been dying it for more than 10 years.

    Normally when I've had my hair dyed it wouldn't be left on for more than 45mins to an hour at most! I sat in the chair while the hairdresser helped somebody else for an hour and a half. The whole time I'm sitting there my scalp is burning, trying to make eye contact with hairdresser to take it off my head.

    Eventually the apprentice came over and had a look at my hair and seemed to then run off and grab the attention of the hairdresser. They immediately sent me to the chairs to wash the colour off. Watching the apprentice freak out by something I wasn't aware of at the time.. They did a bleach wash on my hair? They did this at least twice. While scrubbing at my head which was still burning! They then recommended a treatment. Which I would have appreciated knowing was $40 and not complementary!

    When I sat back in the chair for the dry off. I was absolutely mortified. My hair was fluorescent orange and yellow. It was horrible. The customers in the chairs next to me looked at me with sad looks, obviously seeing what had just happened. The edge of my face and hairline was bright from the colour which had obviously burnt my skin from the overdone colour. I assumed positive intent. Hoping that when it was dry it would look different.

    Nope. It was terrible. Orange/Yellow and absolutely terrible. I can't believe that a senior hair colourist could not do blonde regrowth properly! It would be such a common thing to do! What made me really angry was the way the colourist approached the situation. They obviously wasn't blind. They could see what they had done, and how upset I was. They then had the nerve to tell me that maybe next time I shouldn't leave it so long in-between colours and that I should have dyed it a different colour. As if this was my fault, when they'd clearly messed up! I didn't even bother saying anything after this. I am still incredibly angry about this.

    I called up a few days later after I'd called health first from the blisters the colour had left on my head and around my face. I wanted a refund, but the receptionist didn't seem to care. I don't want it to be fixed by somebody that could possibly burn my scalp again and make the colour worse.

    I've now had to spend over $200 in products and at other salons trying to fix this and my hair is now brittle and can't handle any more colour. I have to wear it up with distracting headbands and hats in public.
    I've never been more unhappy with a hairdresser than the one that ruined my hair that day.

    I will never go back.

    6 months ago - 04/03/2014

    • Lucespace Newbie 
      Hi Rosalie,
      This is highly unusual! Id like to try and get some more information from you as we don't have a Rosalie in our system and haven't registered any issues matching what you have outlined over the past 3 months.
      Rosalie, we are a professionally run salon and hold the care of our customers and the hair service with the upmost respect.
      If you wouldn't mind phoning the salon 0294101033 and speak with Lisa or email me directly luke@lucespace.com id like to follow up. Regards Luke

      6 months ago - 06/03/2014

      REPORT
  • atan7 Local Star   795 reviews
    Absolutely love coming to this salon. You feel pampered and relaxed. From beginning to end, the staff are friendly, courteous and professional. I always look forward to my next appointment and would highly recommend this salon to anyone.

    8 months ago - 26/12/2013

  • Lucespace Newbie   1 review
    From Caroline Cummings -SYDNEY/CENTRAL COAST PEEPS -

    I want to give a BIG shout out to anyone who would love to get a hair makeover or a top-notch colour that uses NATURAL products tested on people, not animals I just had the very good fortune to be gifted a set of foils on my hair from the brilliant, award-winning, Aveda hair-colourist Mr Peter Maloney at Luc Espace in Chatswood Chase centre. For almost four hours I was authentically pampered and attended to by Peter (and others who helped) and made to feel really special and cared about. I could see this going on with all the other clients too, which is really quite amazing. Plenty of variety of great magazines (let's face it, that's really important too, right?!) AND the in-house herbal teas were actually pretty divine too!

    The salon was very plush but not "in your face" and I really liked the touch where anyone having foils or colour get to sit all together around a big long table in the salon, with NO mirrors right there....so you don't have to look at yourself at your most feral and image-conscious vulnerable moments! KEWL!l.

    It was my first introduction to Aveda products and if you have never tried them, they are really beautiful. Peter's knowledge and confident consultation was second to none.

    As well as foils, I had a couple of wonderful hair treatments - one of which had me left alone, sitting head back in comfy recliner at the sink for about fifteen minutes, to the point where I think I did actually manage to start hippy-trippy, floating on the ceiling I especially valued being asked beforehand, if I would like eye patches for that duration....in case my closed eyelids might be "bothered by the lighting above" - what a nice touch! It's also pretty special when your colourist comes over to the basin to carefully and thoroughly check in minute detail how the foils have taken, to the point where they see one LITTLE bit on your head that warrants a 'correction" right there and then....something that only a perfectionist who cares could see and find important to do!

    In short - you gotta book in! Ask for Peter though - he's the spunky, funny, wise one....very talented and ONLY there one day a week starting next week. He WILL get booked out, so if this calls you, get in touch with him. Tell him I sent you - I don't get any kickbacks, I just really believe in his work after today. Thanks again Peter - you made my day really special and helped my hair HUGELY.

    CUSTOMER TESTIMONIAL POSTED BY BUSINESS
  • mlunny Newbie   1 review
    I have now been going to Luc Espace for a number of years. I find the staff, all of them, to always be so helpful and patient with me. I love the surrounds that the salon offers; I always feel welcomed, pampered and a little bit spoilt. There has never been a time that I've not loved the style that I've walked away with; which is amazing considering I'm known to say - Keep it long but otherwise do what you think will work for me. they explore my lifestyle and how much time I spend on styling and give me a modern cut that not only suits me as an individual but my no fuss life too. I love the salon; I bet anyone else going there will too.
  • SMaccani Newbie   1 review
    Worst hair experience. My stylist was nice enough but the outcome is horrible. My hair has been unevenly coloured (darker at the roots and front). I would never go back and urge you not to either. I will now have to pay more money and spend the better part of my Saturday having a proper stylist fix what was done.

    • Lucespace Newbie 
      From Owner:Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback on your experience, I'm sorry the colour hasn't turned out exactly as you envisaged.

      The most important thing is to get your hair right. I would like to arrange to have our colour director look at your hair and sort it out for you. We stand behind all the work we do sometimes if there is a problem it will most certainly will be addressed and rectified.

      look forward to hearing from you. Luke

      12/06/2013

      REPORT
  • Joanne Lee Phin Local Star   337 reviews
    I came back last Saturday (a week after my previous visit for a cut) and was booked in for a colour with Tanya whom I've never dealt with before. To be honest, I was a tad skeptical about a previous review but what was described was pretty accurate. She spoke to me to find out what I wanted, what I liked, and offered to price it up for me before she continued.

    I think I had a "halo" (though I'm not quite sure what that means) and some foils done, and the colour was great and it was pretty much exactly what I expected. Loved the hand massage while they put in a colour gloss at the sink too.
  • Joanne Lee Phin Local Star   337 reviews
    It's been years since my last visit to Luc Espace. I'd stopped going because my wedding hair stylist wanted to have my hair cut and coloured a certain way for the wedding, and then I started going to a salon near the office out of convenience. I was looking back at old photos recently and realised how much I loved my hair when I was seeing Luke at Luc Espace, so I decided to book myself back in for an appointment.

    I was running late to my appointment because I was stuck in Chatswood traffic, but they were really accommodating and made it work despite the hiccup in schedule. Everyone was very welcoming and I forgot how much I loved the "ritual" - though I would have done anything for a stronger massage that day. ;)

    I never know what to do with my hair, and something I've always appreciated about Luke and the team is that they just seem to know what to do. During my cut with Luke, the lady in the chair next to me got his attention to gush over her stylist and what a great job she'd done. I haven't seen anyone leave without looking great, and I'd be pretty comfortable not looking in the mirror, knowing that my hair would turn out well. When I got home, the husband commented that "Luke gives you the best haircuts"... Now, if only I could get the husband in for a proper haircut himself!
  • senorita365 Newbie   1 review
    I am very critical of salons as i was a hairdresser for 10 years before having children. I have been unhappy with so many salons and every salon i went to i felt like i had been ripped off either with the colour, service or price!
    I saw Tanya on a Sunday and was impressed with her enthusiasm and professionalism she provided me with a quote before beginning and the result has been spot on! thankyou Tanya
  • beautyqn Newbie   1 review
    I am a client with Luc Espace for many years , i have my hair done twice a week and every time i walk in through that door i get welcomed by their friendly team. I love the smell of the Aveda products and always feel confident im in good hands with who ever Im with. Theres no way you can find a better salon than Luc Espace. I get so many compliments of how shiny and healthy my hair looks, loving the Aveda colour.

  • glooed   2 reviews
    Woah, $330 for a colour and cut - and I only wanted a trim, although unfortunately that's not what I got. I was quite happy with my colour. The colourist listened to me, explained what they had in mind, and delivered what they'd described. But it was a different story when it came to my cut. Despite saying I didn't like layers, the stylist suggested they cut light layers and then cut heavy layers around my face - right where I didn't want them. I don't like it and they will take a long time to grow out. The worst part was they did my "consultation" when I was sitting at a table with my hair in foils and no mirror in front of me - it was really hard to explain what I wanted, and I don't think they really cared. It staggers belief that a hairdresser would do a consultation without even seeing the hair they were cutting - then charge $110 for the privilege. They also got me to flip my hair over my head when they were cutting so I couldn't even see how they was cutting it. I've never had a hairdresser cut my hair like that and I don't think anyone would really call it a good cut.
    It's a very la-di-dah salon - which is great if you don't mind paying for their interior design job and inhouse promo magazine instead of a good haircut. Everyone calls you darling and lovely which is kind of phoney especially when they give you a dodgy haircut.
    • Lucespace Newbie 
      Our prices start from $65 for a cut and feel it represents excellent value for money. There is a tiered system which allows for people with many years of experience to charge at higher rates. If you are a little price sensitive i would suggest a level 1 for your next cut or colour. All our team have weekly education and are not "on the floor" unless completely competent with their skill. Luke

      12/06/2013

      REPORT
  • s.africa Newbie   1 review
    I have been to more than 20 salons in Sydney since arriving in Sydney. The level of service and skills in the salons is absolutely appalling. From hi end salons like toni & guy, aveda, to your local hairdresser on the corner....... horrible. I enter expecting the worst, and leave with what I had expected "Crap Hair, Crap Service",
    So this is where Luc Espace has shone out like a diamond in the rough. The level of service from the time you enter the salon, greeted professionally, offered a beverage, my coat hung, my scalp massaged, my hair cut to perfection, blow dried and GHD'd, not a strand out out place!!!
    Now if they can deliver such service, why can no other salon offer this! I hope that they don't lower their standards to that of the other salons in Sydney. I can only wish that other salons would look the them and raise their standards.
  • alterego Newbie   1 review
    I have been going there for many years! my cut is perfect, i'm always listened too they are professional and i always leave smiling, thanks guys
  • BunnyHop   2 reviews
    There is nothing worse than getting the worst haircut of your life, and then having to suffer the indignity of having to pay for it. This is what happened to me here. It was so traumatising that I still shudder when I walk past this salon. When I rang and went in upset to get them to 'fix' it - I felt as though they just wanted to get rid of me before anyone noticed. I didn't feel as though they were apologetic or cared in the least. The least they could have done was refund my money for ruining my hair for the next year or so until it grew out. Impersonal uncaring service. I only give them 1/2 star because I can't give zero stars.
  • Realitychq   3 reviews
    I have been to lots of salons over the years and I always end up going back to Luc Espace. They are consistent,professional and I always love my hair when I leave.
    Keep up the good work
  • Sylvia44 Newbie   1 review
    I had a very unhappy experience with this salon. While my colourist was lovely, and Im happy with the colour shade we chose together, thats where my positive comments must end. I wanted to try the Aveda colours because of health concerns with heavy metals in normal hair dyes. I was shocked though at how pungent the Aveda product is, plus it badly irritated my scalp. Colourist offered to wash it off when I told her it was hurting, but I didnt want to walk out with a half done colour job so I persisted. After the half-hour development time I was taken to the basins by a guy who had been told my scalp was sore and he made some comments acknowledging that. But he was still quite rough in his handling of my hair, pulling and tugging as he washed it. After washing, he sprayed an unknown product onto my hair and then began to massage the scalp. The massage hurt a lot so I asked him to stop, he did, and then washed the hair again immediately. So whatever product had been sprayed was washed out after only a few seconds. If it was any kind of conditioner it cant have had time to do any good. He then towel dried my hair and took me to another chair to wait for a stylist to dry my hair. I was appalled looking at the condition of my hair in the mirror, it looked like tangled steel wool. I asked the guy who washed it if he had used any kind of after-colour treatment. He said I should have booked that in advance if Id wanted it (I was never advised this when I booked the colour). He did not offer to put any treatment on now. Then a stylist came and proceeded to try to brush and blow-dry my hair, again without spraying on any product to de-tangle or condition it. It was almost impossible to get the brush through my hair. I was nearly in tears as my scalp was still burning and the brushing and heat from the dryer were really hurting. Finally I begged him to stop and get something to spray to make the brush pass more easily through the hair. He seemed stunned at this request but went to get something, which did make the brushing a little easier. His blow-drying took ages and was so painful I was nearly crying. Julia came over and was really sweet and caring offering me a free haircut or some other treatment next time, but I told her how could I come back when this product was hurting my scalp so much. I couldnt wait to get out of there. I went to the front desk and was told my bill was $195 (Id been told Id be paying around $130-140, but I guess that was just for the colour). I asked how much the blow-dry had cost - $55! I couldnt believe that a salon that charges this much doesnt even put a conditioning product of any kind on just-coloured hair. Now, 3 days later, my hair still feels like straw and is obviously very damaged. So its a big thumbs-down for both the Aveda product and for this outrageously overpriced and under-servicing salon.
    • tinasparks Newbie 
      I have been a client at this salon for over 7 years and have been more than satisfied with the quality of their service, their products, especially Aveda and their care of my hair. Not once have I walked away dissatisfied with what they have done for me.

      In fact 4 of my friends now go there and are more than satisfied.

      Perhaps you should have chosen to speak to the manager about your situation in more detail as I feel sure they would have assisted you.
      Yes they are more expensive than some other places but then you are paying for highly experienced hairdressers and good service.

      23/06/2011

      REPORT
    • Joanne Lee Phin Local Star 
      Was quite surprised to read your review Sylvia44. I understand that people get reactions to colour, but while I was there for a colour on the weekend, the colourist and everyone else who handled my hair kept checking to see if everything was alright.

      25/02/2013

      REPORT
  • SaritaJoan   73 reviews
    I'm heading back here for a second time as I was very happy with the results - even after 6 weeks I was getting compliments on the cut and colour. I liked the feeling of the aveda colour and my hair felt healthy afterwards. Also got a hand massage while my colour was developing, which was nice. The staff are friendly too. The only downsides are that it can seem a little chaotic and disorganised when it's full and the opening hours are the same as the shopping centre, which makes it difficult to get an appointment out of work hours with certain stylists.
    • SaritaJoan  
      Wow - even after 8 weeks I was getting compliments. Love my new colour - the colourist I had (Stacy) interpreted my vagueness very well and gave me the colour I wanted. Stylist Janelle did a fantastic job, as always.

      14/08/2010

      REPORT
  • Jem Richards Newbie   1 review
    Great salon, had a really positive experience with Pete. Super happy with my cut.

EFTPOS Visa MasterCard Cash All Cards Accepted AMEX

Hairdressers

Service Options

Foils Formals Hair Makeovers Colour Corrections Hair Consultations Blow Drying Head Massage Parties Ammonia Free Long Hair Highlight Conditioning Style Cuts Scalp Massages Clippers Colouring Extensions Hair Straightening Trims Bridal Hairstyling Low Chemical Colouring Straightening Weddings Blow Waving Tints Organic Hair Products Lightening Expert Up Styling Curling Styling Cuts

Services/Facilities

Free Consultations Package Deals Gift Vouchers Consultations Free Quotes Off-Street Parking

Clients

Television Industry Women Seniors All Ages Students Men Debutante Balls Models Wedding Parties Children

Aveda GHD Great Lengths Hair Extentions Brazilian Blowout Keratin

More Hairdressers near Chatswood, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site