OPEN TODAY: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm / 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Tue 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wed 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 2:00 am
Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 2:00 am
Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 2:00 am
Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
print
  • To Mr. Wong
Layered with timeless colonial furnishings including timber floors with tiled inlay, bamboo framed French woven chairs and slow turning ceiling fans, Mr. Wong pays homage to classic Chinese influences in a contemporary style. The Cantonese-style menu features over 60 dishes including Chinese roasted duck, faux Shark Fin Soup and Abalone served steamboat style, as well as an unrivalled dim sum selection.

Sprawled over two levels, the 240 seater Mr. Wong is one of the largest restaurants in the northern end of the Sydney CBD. It offers a range of dining options varying from private dining rooms and large group tables, through to intimate tables for two and seating at the open kitchen. Located within an easy walk of trains, buses and parking stations, it's perfectly placed for a quick lunch time snack, pre and post theatre suppers, late night dining, large celebratory events and family get-togethers.

Join us anytime as we save tables for walk-ins.
Lunch bookings - accepted.
Dinner bookings - accepted for groups of 6 or more.

Reviews of Mr. Wong

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • Shi Min   6 reviews
    Love the decor and atmosphere.
    Must try the Crispy Pork Hock and the desserts!!

    6 months ago - 17/04/2014

  • sarahjx   4 reviews
    A hidden little restaurant.. gem! Love the crispy pork - my fave and the macadamia chicken is great too. Get there early - can not make a reservation for under 6 guests and there is oftern a long line!

    6 months ago - 08/04/2014

  • atan7 Local Star   845 reviews
    As you walk along bridge street, you could easily walk past this place, even if you were actively looking for it! Keep and eye out for the name spray painted on the wall and walk down toward what looks like a 'deadend'. Located alone in this alleyway is a modern dining gem! I wasn't very hungry, but it didn't want to pass an opportunity to eat at Mr Wongs. People rave about this merivale group icon, it is fresh, clean Chinese food with great service. The atmosphere is casual and the vibe is slightly noisy.
    The food is delicious, a bit pricey with dimsum ranging from $12-$15 a dish (with 3-4 dumplings) but they are delicious. Scallop Sui Mai is so good! If you are ordering just good be prepared to pay about $70 per person. Great place for a nice meal with friends, date or just cos you are hungry and want to splash out a little.
  • Bondi1983   8 reviews
    A really enjoyable experience! You usually need to book for any night, however the staff always try their best to accommodate by finding you a seat on one of the long communal tables or at the bar. Fried icecream is yummy and even the freshest and simplistic dish being the ginger chicken with steamed bok choy is really tasty! Very high quality, premium tea selection.... tea just doesn't taste that good when you have it at home that's for sure!! 10/10!! great crowd!

    8 months ago - 05/02/2014

  • Easternian Local Star   677 reviews
    I have heard a lot about Mr. Wong before I visited this place, and to be honest I was quite sceptical as to how a modern take of a Chinese food could be better than the original I usually find at the heart of Chinatown.

    It turned out I was wrong. Despite having a fusion atmosphere of bar ambience, Asian-inspired dining area dcor and classical European music, they still retain the taste, feeling just like the day it was invented, if I could say it that way.

    The food was of great class, made of high quality produce, and with generous serving sizes, every single selection is worth every single premium you pay for the dishes.

    Dont let the large areas fool you. There might be plenty of tables around but it doesnt mean you dont need to make a reservation. And if you happen to be in a smaller group and cannot make a reservation, your best chance is to come early and soak in as much great atmosphere as you can from this place I bet you are bound to find a lot of surprises here and there (dont forget to visit the restroom)!

    The staffs are also very polite, very knowledgeable, and very genuine; it was by far the best service I have experienced in a very long time.

    My last words: if you are looking for Chinese food at its finest, then look no further.

    9 months ago - 27/01/2014

  • Megz0075 Newbie   1 review
    little bit expensive... but the atmosphere, decor, quality was lovely

    11 months ago - 07/11/2013

  • R_E_V_I_E_W_E_R_1 Local Star   511 reviews
    I visited for a work function. Great atmosphere- there are shelves around the walls with dried dried mushrooms and other odd things in jars! Super high ceilings, awesome artwork and mood lighting. Very trendy. We had a banquet-type meal and the food was excellent.
  • sydtrekker   1 review
    A few weeks ago I was at odds where to book a Sunday lunch for my fathers birthday who was flying in from Queensland. As a gourmet diner who has travelled the world, the pressure was on to locate a restaurant that would tantalize his taste buds and would be a memorable experience. Im pleased to say we had the most fantastic lunch. The only dilemma was what to select from the menu! Can highly recommend steamed scallops with ginger, shallots, XO sauce and Silken tofu (yummo) and the beef and blackbean, bamboo, baby corn and snowpeas (delicious). Oh and dont leave without trying the deep fried vanilla ice cream with butter scotch sauce (to die for). This place ticks all the boxes for food and atmosphere.
  • Bella.Blue Local Star   386 reviews
    Oh. Snap. This place is one hell of a spot. At 6pm we decided we wanted shabby chic & class for dinner so we stopped in at this secret little joint. A table for 11 please, I asked. The maitre-de (a spunky young man) raised his eyebrows & replied with 8.30pm. But it's my birthday, I said, & smiled sweetly. 6.30 it is.
    What a legend.
    So half an hour later, all eleven of us were seated at Mr Wong's prime round table.
    The post-colonial oriental decor took my breath away. As did the cocktail I had. Not sure what it was, but it was delish! The dumplings came out and almost brought tears to my eyes. I didn't know dumplings could be so good?! All the dishes were just so crisp & fresh and so damn fine. The 11 of us decided to finish the food festivities with each of the desserts. If I hadn't had mains I would have been happy to just have dessert. The mango pudding was to die for. It had little jubes of syrupy goodness, that burst in your mouth. And the granita was incredible.
    This place is a must try before you die. As is that mango pudding ;)
  • Koby27   7 reviews
    1 word: AMAZING! Beautifully dressed staff, shabby oriental decor, great menu selection which isn't that of your typical Chinese takeaway. Highly recommend the BBQ pork dumplings for starter and the salt and pepper squid for the main. Best squid I have ever had (and I've had a lot I usually order that off any menu). Prices are around $9 for entree and $18-$30 for main. Great side street tucked away location, easy to miss if your not really looking for it. Not really a place for children...more adult atmosphere. oh yeah...Sounds silly but check out the toilets! So vintage style :)

Cash All Cards Accepted

Restaurants

Dining Options

A-la-carte Bookings

Cuisine

Yum Cha Chinese Dim Sum

Licensing

Licensed

Features

Group Bookings

More Restaurants near Sydney, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site