OPEN TODAY: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Mon 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tue 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wed 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thu 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Sun 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
print
  • To North Ryde Veterinary Hospital

For happy healthy pets

We are a licensed veterinary hospital with over 40 year experience serving the pets (and their owners) of Ryde, Macquarie Park, Marsfield and all surrounding suburbs. 

We have a large car park and are open longer for your convenience. We offer a full service schedule including Xrays, ultrasound, keyhole surgery, laser therapy and all the usual wellness things like vaccines and diet advice. 

Our super hero is Buzz the practice cat, he's our meeter and greeter so you'll meet him when you come in. 

We also have Jess (our other super hero) who speaks english a bit better than Buzz...so you should stroke Buzz and talk to Jess (in that order please) when you come in.

We're regular people who chose to work with pets and we have a lot of fun doing our thing each day. Come in to get a feel of how different the vibe in in the clinic. But don't be fooled because the place seems fun...

We are also one of the most modern and well equipped clinics in Sydney and send our vets all over the world learning and developing our skills and knowledge. 

So give us a yell if your pet needs a vet, you'll be in good hands. That's our promise.



Reviews of North Ryde Veterinary Hospital

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • Multifoliate Rose Newbie   1 review
    Dr Dave, Dr George, Dr Angeli and all the other staff there are fantastic. They are all friendly and personable and very knowledgeable. They always take the time to look after my pets and take the time to talk to them and get to know them. I would like to recommend them to anyone who needs a vet in the area.

    1 month ago - 07/08/2014

  • NickF Newbie   2 reviews
    I was pleasantly surprised with the people at this clinic. I went in to look for a product, having concerns for my sick cat and Dr Dave Nicol and the assistant took their time to listen to my detailed story and offered their advice - despite the fact I was not a paying customer. I believe my cat had a bad allergic reaction to the antibiotic Convenia and I was told that in their experience, there were no known such cases at their clinic. But they did not dismiss such a possibility, as rare as it may be, also warning about other possible causes of similar symptoms.

    4 months ago - 29/04/2014

  • Gwensdog Newbie   1 review
    Baxter is now 9 years old and has had several procedures at North Ryde Vet.
    We have been pleased with the care and attention he has received during those times.

    7 months ago - 06/02/2014

  • caesarshi Newbie   1 review
    We have been with North Ryde Veterinary for 2.5 years. My cat Caesar has always been treated by Dr Tanya, she is really professional and also patient with animals. They have the most friendly team and we feel secure to leave our cat with them. We also love the drop and go service, it saves us a lot of time. the price is always under our expectation, so I definitely will recommend it to my friends.

    7 months ago - 04/02/2014

  • hmelon Newbie   2 reviews
    We are so happy that Zara is being looked after by an amazing and caring team. The vets and reception staff are always friendly and happy to answer our questions. Puppy school was so fun that my kids want to keep going! Very innovative practice.

    7 months ago - 22/01/2014

  • zacmonty Newbie   1 review
    Dr George and his wonderful staff have been looking after my cats for 17 years..my gorgeous birman Zac who passed away at the age of 20 and now Monty(the monster) a 3 year old birman who is a handful.Their friendly caring for animals is such a joy .Highly recommended

    8 months ago - 09/01/2014

  • tuppy1 Newbie   1 review
    Very friendly team, George K is great - takes the time to make my dog comfortable and is very thorough. He shows a true passion for his work.

    9 months ago - 03/12/2013

  • nellcow Newbie   1 review
    Very caring and informative. Received a follow up call after our puppy was in hospital. Excellent puppy classes.

    9 months ago - 20/11/2013

  • JarrydHill Newbie   1 review
    Don't normally post reviews for anything but in this case i felt i had to let anyine who is thinking about getting their dog desexed about this vet practice. We live in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney but travelled to North Ryde on reccommendation and it was worth it! Prices were extremely reasonable for the procedure (she was desexed by keyhole surgery), though the amazing part was the recovery of our 40kg 13 month old Bernese Mountain Dog after such a major procedure, she was up and about the next day (we expected at least a couple of weeks). While she was under they gave her a really good checkup and cleaned her teeth and ears as well. Massive thanks to Dave and the team, we will definintely be back.

    10 months ago - 09/11/2013

  • EugieBear&FuzzySuzzy Newbie   1 review
    Highly Recommended. My First encounter on the phone was so pleasant and so helpful.

    11 months ago - 09/10/2013

  • Sphynx Newbie   1 review
    We are very happy with the North Ryde Vet hospital. As a family we used it for 8 years and still keep coming back even though we now live in a different suburb. Care and kindness that the staff showed to us over the years makes it feel like home. Highly recommended by our cat and his "support staff".

    11 months ago - 26/09/2013

  • Julian May Newbie   1 review
    Very happy with my experiences with this practice. Vets and receptionists are always friendly and professional, and I appreciate that they are open late - so I can actually get the pets there after work!

    11 months ago - 26/09/2013

    • drdavenicol Newbie 
      Thanks Julian. We're glad that we make you happy! And we really appreciate the feedback.

      11 months ago - 26/09/2013

      REPORT
  • rnrfamily Newbie   1 review
    Absolutely terrible. We went in for a dental check-up and the vet looked at our dogs teeth and told us the cost straight away of 1500. We told the vet we might consider a second opinion, and the vet told us "it might cost 800-1000 actually". Incredibly rude as well, we wanted to ask about a skin problem and would have been happy to pay for a full consultation but the vet tells us "this is a dental check-up, not a skin check-up." very rudely. We went to the vets near midson rd in epping, and they were very friendly and did the entire dental treatment as well as decided on themselves to do a routine check-up for no extra cost at $500. The one star I am providing is for the receptionist who was friendly and welcoming. We had heard good reviews about this place, but unfortunately the vet at the time was rude and ruined the experience entirely.
    • drdavenicol Newbie 
      Hi rnrfamily,

      Thanks for taking the time to add this review. Firstly i'm sorry that you had this experience when you came to the practice. It is certainly not what I expect and the normal standard we achieve for our clients. I would very much appreciate it if you would contact me at the practice on Monday to tell me more about your visit so I can review this with the team and make sure we learn how to avoid this in the future. Yours sincerely, Dr Dave Nicol.

      29/08/2013

      REPORT
  • Prentkod   6 reviews
    Have been meaning to add this comment for a while.
    We took our 2 dogs in for what we thought was going to be a routine teeth scale and polish . As it turned out our 3yo Maltese needed to have 6 teeth removed . We were sad that Sophie had to have 6 teeth removed at the young age of 3....BUT she has clearly been so much happier and more active and now (without the 'off days' she used to have ) we are only sad that this was not checked earlier by a different vet. We will be going back for our complimentary 6 month dental check in Oct which is a great service !...Thanks again Dr Dave
  • Jessica Wa Newbie   1 review
    North Ryde vet is amazing! Thanks dr George for looking after Kingston!
  • rydelocal   2 reviews
    As a first time cat owner I rang several local vets to get a quote on desexing my new kitten Carter. The lovely Jess answered the phone and she immediately took an interest in Carter - how he was settling in, how I was going with him and gave me some tips to help the adjustment even smoother, rather than just giving me a quote.

    On the Friday before Christmas, close to closing time, I rang them again to ask a question on a potential rescue cat I was thinking of getting (bad timing on my part). Jess helped me out again and made me feel like I wasn't impeding her time at all when I'm sure she would have just wanted to go home.

    I've been so impressed with the care, patience and love all the staff display with my two boys and I can't recommend them highly enough.
  • Whoisdim Newbie   1 review
    Dave and NVRH are out of the world with their service. To say he goes above and beyond is an understatement. I wish the people doctors were as attentive to their patients because our two puppies are very well looked after.
  • pug_lover Newbie   2 reviews
    The service and care provided at NRVH is of the highest quality, we wouldn't take our little guy anywhere else. Dr Dave and his team are always professional, friendly, realistic and demonstrates the passion they have for the care of animals. The puppy school service is also very rewarding and a lot of fun!
  • skymedal Newbie   1 review
    Dr Dave and his team at North Ryde Vet Hospital are amazing. They are one of the most modern and advanced, well equipped, and knowledgeable vet practices in Sydney. And on top of that, they so are friendly and care as much about our dog as we do. We recently had a scare with our pup, as there was a lump on his chest near his front leg and the biopsy suggested some abnormal spindle cells. Dr Dave spent as much time as we needed explaining to us the potential problems and discussing various treatment options. I felt totally comfortable knowing that Dr Dave would be doing the surgery. In the end, we had a happy ending with our worst case fears not being realised. Even so, Dr Dave still followed up with us several times post-surgery to check on the health of our dog. They are not the closest vet to us, however I think it's more important to seek out the best treatment for your family (pets included!) then to choose a health care provider just because they are around the next corner. We will never go to any other vet.
  • carebare   1 review
    I use to take all my pets to NRVH for 21 years under the old management. The new management does not care enough about animals. I'm very sad and disappointed at the new management. But couple of nurses seem to care more. I would go elsewhere to someone with more compassion for animals.
    • drdavenicol Newbie 
      Hi Carebare, thanks for your feedback. We're very sorry to hear you feel this way about us and have decided to go else where after all this time. It certainly makes us sad when people think we don't care enough about animals, given this is what we have all dedicated most of our life to doing and we work incredibly hard to the best for our patients each day.

      The vast majority of people and pets we look after do seem to value what we do and say positive things about us, however we admit we are human and may not get it right 100% of the time. However we can promise you and all of our clients this, we will put right anything we have done that is wrong, if we have boobed.
      If you would be good enough to detail your objections in an email to Dr Dave we will see what can be done to sort out the problem or at the very least have you leave on good terms. Thanks again.

      21/02/2013

      REPORT
  • Prentkod   6 reviews
    Last week our dog got food poisoning. We rushed her to the vet that was close to home, and despite 2 visits nothing was really done and the dog was getting worse. We rang dr Dave and despite being very busy they squeezed us in. dr Dave examined her, gave her 3 types of shots (explaining why each one was required), he also started her on antibiotics. Our dog Molly started to recover within the next few hours and was back to herself by the following evening. We used to think dr Dave was a little too far from home(local vet is 3 km away and dr Dave is 7.5km)...but it is definitely worth the little extra distance. dr Dave is the only vet we will now use...his knowledge and service is far more superior to any other vet we have visited.....thank you Dr Dave
    • drdavenicol Newbie 
      Hi Guys, Thanks again for your support and comment. hope that all is well now and you don't have to make the trip too soon again!

      21/02/2013

      REPORT
  • Bec2020 Newbie   1 review
    North Ryde Vet is great. All the staff are helpful and caring. Dr Dave is excellent! He is patient, kind and genuinely cares for the well being of my pet. I have found a place I trust and won't go anywhere else.
  • Bellaella Newbie   1 review
    We have been using North Ryde veterinary hospital for around 35 years and have always been very happy. Our dogs have also been very glad to visit. The new face lift looks great. The brightness matches the staff who are always very helpful and pleasant. We have just got a new puppy and it was suggested to us to go to puppy school which is held at the surgery. When first told about it I thought, "just another puppy school". How wrong was I. Amazing. Its fun and the way we learn to train our puppies is fantastic. I would recommend anyone who gets a new puppy to definitely do puppy school with thwm. Well worth it.










  • Tezzey62 Newbie   1 review
    I wont take my cats anywhere else! Great service. really nice people. and your pets are well looked after!!
  • Prentkod   6 reviews
    We were very selective when trying to find a vet for our Dog Sophie given we had some previous poor experiences with other vets. We read lots of true local reviews and chose Dr Dave and he certainly lived up to his reviews. Dr Dave was very knowledgeable and friendly and answered all of our questions. I believe it is very important to give deserving vets and other organisations accurate reviews as it is a powerful tool to help people choose good businesses at the same time a big help in avoiding poor service and waste of money and time. Many thanks Dr Dave !
    • drdavenicol Newbie 
      Hey! That's a super nice thing to say about us. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this comment. We share these at our team meetings because they help us all stay motivated to keep on trying hard to do the best we can for your pets. Next time she's in Sophie gets some roo chews on us! ;-)

      27/09/2012

      REPORT
  • Rochelle I Newbie   1 review
    We only just started using North Ryde Vet in the last 2 years and we have been nothing but totally satisfied. The cattery is great and Dr Dave and the staff are lovely. Everyone at the clinic has my furr babys health and wellbeing as their number one priority.
  • Spurjo Newbie   1 review
    The thing I love most about North Ryde Vet is the help we received when we were given a very active, noisy and almost unmanageable puppy. The Puppy School was essential for us and the pup, who is slowly learning to behave. Dr Dave and the staff have our pups health and wellbeing under control and we really appreciate their help and advice. If you are looking for a Vet to care for your pet, this is a really great place to bring your animal.
    John & Genevieve Spurgin
  • JanelleFae Newbie   1 review
    The thing I love most about North Ryde vet is that the staff love my pet as much as I do.
  • RHN Newbie   1 review
    The thing I love most about North Ryde Vet is the friendly and professional service. The nurses are always happy to answer questions and the vets really seem to care about their animal patients. The vet hospital is conveniently located and the premises have recently been re-vamped and it looks great.
  • allisonx Newbie   1 review
    Ownership has changed but the professional standards have not. Wonderful staff who truly care about your family pet. Respecting the past and embracing the future.

Visa EFTPOS MasterCard Cash

Veterinarians

Service Options

Skin Consultations Weight Loss Vaccinations Neutering Soft Tissue Surgery Diet Advice Radiology Pets X-Ray Flea Products Worming Arthritis Blood Pathology Unit Orthopaedic Treatments Ultrasound Dental Facilities Surgery Euthanasia

Eukanuba Hill's Iams

More Veterinarians near North Ryde, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site