OPEN TODAY: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Mon 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Tue 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Wed 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Fri 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Sat 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Sun 11:30 am - 12:00 am
print
  • To Opera Bar
Opera Bar - Sydney Opera House is one of the most popular bars around. It offers absolutely stunning views of the Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay. It is always a lively place with live bands and singers. Outdoor area is always popular, their indoor lounge areas are even more so for dining. 

--TrueLocal description--
Locals know that this is the place to get a gasp out of visitors. A mixed crowd, in daytime there?s no Sydneyish door policies and everyone is thrown together for fun in the sun and a very Sydney view. Sundays have jazz ? and nibbles served on afternoon tea stands.

Reviews of Opera Bar

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • T Richie Barfly   87 reviews
    Really nice atmosphere with classy decor. Food and drinks are really nice, and the service is usually excellent. Price is a bit over the top, but I guess you're paying for gourmet services and food.

    1 month ago - 17/09/2014

  • mins Local Star   458 reviews
    I never tire of the Opera Bar and who would with the views. The good thing is they have a smoking and non smoking section as being outdoors it could easily be all smoking. The staff were super friendly when serving also.

    4 months ago - 28/05/2014

  • Fred Carpenter   12 reviews
    One of the best. Great service. Great cocktails too.

    7 months ago - 13/03/2014

  • MSSBENNETT   5 reviews
    beautiful location had fun but it cost me dearly with drinks.

    9 months ago - 27/12/2013

  • moon70star   5 reviews
    Great Location, right on the harbor. Good vibe on a Sunday. Drinks are pricey, but your paying for the views and location. Nice for a lazy Sunday.
  • pvogtmann Barfly   40 reviews
    Great views, Expensive but worth it for the views and atmosphere. Food is nice too.
  • Aobryan Local Star   150 reviews
    This place is definitely the place to be in Summer. Unfortunately it is open-air which means it can be very chilly in Winter (as it's right on the water) and definitely not a place to go if it rains. But there is a delicous food menu, an absolutely outstanding cocktail menu and to sit right on the water, listening to some beats whilst chatting with friends, it's a wonderful venue
  • Paulos101 Barfly   92 reviews
    I have been to Opera bar a few times but the last time i went not too long ago was awesome the atmosphere was great due to the live band that were playing as well as a guy on the saxophone. it was a real chillout vibe. Add to that the absolutetly awesome views of the opera house and harbour bridge, great for a few drinks with friends ( even though their booze is bit overpriced)
  • WeenieM Local Star   90 reviews
    I've always avoided Opera Bar because it is just so touristy and busy, but I went here recently and really, nothing beats having a nice drink with your friend sitting right next to the harbour looking out to the Harbour Bridge, the Opera House and the water. Absolutely amazing especially on a nice evening whilst the sun is setting.
  • physiegirl   86 reviews
    Fabulous location, great drink selections (although pricey!) and a buzzy vibe. Shame they don't stay open later as we were hurried out of there after having seen a show at the Opera House. They would have made a fortune from us had they stayed open!
  • winglee Barfly   186 reviews
    Busy and pricey. But on a gorgeous Sydney day, there is no better place to sit and soak up a chardy and the superb views of Sydney harbour.
  • Bat Tech   8 reviews
    Great bar and food and the live music is a nice touch for the atmosphere. Favourite time is in Summer when you can sit on the sides and watch the ferries go past.
  • KGirl Local Star   315 reviews
    Really great place to come for a drink or to eat. Amazing views of Sydney!
  • MrT Barfly   192 reviews
    The view is amazing! Forget the terrible house prices, overcrowded public transport and heavy traffic - this place makes you feel lucky to live in Sydney! :-)
  • BondiPete   5 reviews
    Brilliant location but overshadowed by the terrible service. It was like we were inconveniencing the staff by ordering!? Needs improvement.
  • Dasha McGee   20 reviews
    5 Stars for the location and view ! what a great spot to go for dinner, lunch or just a drink on a balmy summer evening. Having recently been there, sitting by the waters edge looking at the Harbour Bridge and the Queen Elizabeth 2 Cruise Ship that was simply sitting right in front of us, I felt blessed to be able to call Sydney Home. A must place to visit, on any budget, choose what to eat from a variety of casual style dining options or grab coffee and a cake and sit harbourside for as little as $10bucks ! Or simply grab a drink with friends in the casual style open air setting or cosy up inside the lovely Opera Bar. Perfect for any budget and the best location in Sydney.
  • The Corpsych Newbie   1 review
    Disgraceful service from behind the bar, insulting and unhelpful staff, poor communication about collection of drinks, all of this spelt NEVER go there again. I have been a patron for at least fifteen years.This place has changed in tone dramatically. Discourteous, huge egos, unable to deal with simple requrests and complaints, and no class. WHen one complains, you get laughed at by the entire staff. Why would I bother to bring one more person to this place to be treated so badly?
  • Moochies Local Star   61 reviews
    The Opera bar surprise surprise is located on the lower concourse of Sydney Opera House. So you can imagine the views you get while in this venue, first the Opera House, then the Harbour and also Sydney Bridge! Wonderful! The bar itself seems to be always busy so its very hard to find a place to sit we ended up eating on the benches on the side of Harbour/ Opera House walkway which was not ideal. BUT and that a big BUT, the food was divine; absolutely delicious and I was surprised to find not as pricey as I thought it would have been. In fact, it was actually quite reasonable! The service is well, eh- forgettable- not because the staff arent polite or anything because they are but rather transactional so you dont really get a warmth from your contact with the staff and vice versa. This is mostly because you order at the counter and then find a place to stand or sit and then have you food delivered to you and thats the extent of the contact with the staff. The vibe and food and views however make up for all its negatives a must do/ see in Sydney!
  • CharlesHNC   11 reviews
    The view from the outside tables is simply amazing!
    If you are new to Sydney, this is a must see!!! The Opera house, the Sydney Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay.
    Only downside is that the drinks are a little expensive.
  • Tiaraaaaa Local Star   772 reviews
    A great place to chill out with friends on Friday or Saturday night, organise a birthday or after work drinks. A little pricey but the views of the harbour are fantastic and the cocktails are divine. Great ambience, lovely outdoor design so you don't feel suffocated like other bars and great food.

Pubs & Bars

Features

Happy Hour

Drinks

Spirits Champagne Wine Imported Beer on Tap Imported Beer Cocktails Beer on Tap

Disabled Facilities

Wheel Chair Access

Accommodation

No

Food

Lunch Dinner

Entertainment

Live Music

More Pubs & Bars near Sydney, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site