OPEN TODAY: 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Mon 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Tue 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Wed 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Thu 11:30 am - 12:00 am
Fri 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Sat 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Sun 11:30 am - 12:00 am
print
  • To Opera Bar
Opera Bar - Sydney Opera House is one of the most popular bars around. It offers absolutely stunning views of the Sydney Harbour and Circular Quay. It is always a lively place with live bands and singers. Outdoor area is always popular, their indoor lounge areas are even more so for dining. 

--TrueLocal description--
Locals know that this is the place to get a gasp out of visitors. A mixed crowd, in daytime there?s no Sydneyish door policies and everyone is thrown together for fun in the sun and a very Sydney view. Sundays have jazz ? and nibbles served on afternoon tea stands.

Reviews of Opera Bar

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • FurthestFromTheTree Barfly   27 reviews
    Here is a short summary of Opera Bar:

    Ok... I like Opera Bar, it's really pretty and the drinks are good and the food is nice and blah blah blah but seriously, it is so ridiculously pretentious, the staff are mostly lovely but GOD they are so disorganised and lazy. I swear every time I go something i've ordered is late to the table. I get it, you're busy, but how are you charging like... $25 for a simple cocktail and not have enough staff? sort it out.

    Drinks are over priced, which attracts a crowd that believes money=class, the service is sub-par and the food is only just above average. Views good but the bar didn't do that, Australia did. Music is never great it's like... top 40's hits mixed in a wok by a kids party DJ.

    The two stars are for positive reinforcement. Use it to motivate yourself to be good.

    3 days ago - 29/01/2015

  • bradlyloco Local Star   186 reviews
    Definitely a lot better since the refresh. Always a great place to bring out-of-towners because of the excellent views.
  • jacoblewis Barfly   20 reviews
    Can't really ask for a better location! Always come here with friends travelling to Sydney, the price isn't too bad considering the location. Great bar with a great view!

    1 week ago - 21/01/2015

  • spraoi Barfly   44 reviews
    Went here on Christmas Eve this year and while I loved the new layout and extra seating the lack of staff outside made the experience less enjoyable. The views are amazing and the drinks are not too expensive considering where it is but the staff could definitely have been more friendly.

    3 weeks ago - 08/01/2015

  • Jess_2014p Local Star   93 reviews
    Such an iconic place to go for Sydneysiders and tourists alike. I always enjoy a trip there on a warm Sunday afternoon! They have re-done the seating recently which looks great. On the down side, they have re-worked the menu recently and the food is a rip off now - I ordered a green salad side plate for $8 and got a bowl of lettuce (??)

    1 month ago - 15/12/2014

  • mins Local Star   575 reviews
    I never tire of the Opera Bar and who would with the views. The good thing is they have a smoking and non smoking section as being outdoors it could easily be all smoking. The staff were super friendly when serving also.

    8 months ago - 28/05/2014

  • Fred Carpenter   12 reviews
    One of the best. Great service. Great cocktails too.

    10 months ago - 13/03/2014

  • MSSBENNETT   5 reviews
    beautiful location had fun but it cost me dearly with drinks.
  • moon70star   5 reviews
    Great Location, right on the harbor. Good vibe on a Sunday. Drinks are pricey, but your paying for the views and location. Nice for a lazy Sunday.
  • pvogtmann Barfly   40 reviews
    Great views, Expensive but worth it for the views and atmosphere. Food is nice too.
  • Aobryan Local Star   156 reviews
    This place is definitely the place to be in Summer. Unfortunately it is open-air which means it can be very chilly in Winter (as it's right on the water) and definitely not a place to go if it rains. But there is a delicous food menu, an absolutely outstanding cocktail menu and to sit right on the water, listening to some beats whilst chatting with friends, it's a wonderful venue
  • Paulos101 Barfly   92 reviews
    I have been to Opera bar a few times but the last time i went not too long ago was awesome the atmosphere was great due to the live band that were playing as well as a guy on the saxophone. it was a real chillout vibe. Add to that the absolutetly awesome views of the opera house and harbour bridge, great for a few drinks with friends ( even though their booze is bit overpriced)
  • WeenieM Local Star   90 reviews
    I've always avoided Opera Bar because it is just so touristy and busy, but I went here recently and really, nothing beats having a nice drink with your friend sitting right next to the harbour looking out to the Harbour Bridge, the Opera House and the water. Absolutely amazing especially on a nice evening whilst the sun is setting.
  • physiegirl   86 reviews
    Fabulous location, great drink selections (although pricey!) and a buzzy vibe. Shame they don't stay open later as we were hurried out of there after having seen a show at the Opera House. They would have made a fortune from us had they stayed open!
  • winglee Barfly   186 reviews
    Busy and pricey. But on a gorgeous Sydney day, there is no better place to sit and soak up a chardy and the superb views of Sydney harbour.
  • Bat Tech   8 reviews
    Great bar and food and the live music is a nice touch for the atmosphere. Favourite time is in Summer when you can sit on the sides and watch the ferries go past.
  • KGirl Local Star   331 reviews
    Really great place to come for a drink or to eat. Amazing views of Sydney!
  • MrT Barfly   192 reviews
    The view is amazing! Forget the terrible house prices, overcrowded public transport and heavy traffic - this place makes you feel lucky to live in Sydney! :-)
  • BondiPete   4 reviews
    Brilliant location but overshadowed by the terrible service. It was like we were inconveniencing the staff by ordering!? Needs improvement.
  • Dasha McGee   20 reviews
    5 Stars for the location and view ! what a great spot to go for dinner, lunch or just a drink on a balmy summer evening. Having recently been there, sitting by the waters edge looking at the Harbour Bridge and the Queen Elizabeth 2 Cruise Ship that was simply sitting right in front of us, I felt blessed to be able to call Sydney Home. A must place to visit, on any budget, choose what to eat from a variety of casual style dining options or grab coffee and a cake and sit harbourside for as little as $10bucks ! Or simply grab a drink with friends in the casual style open air setting or cosy up inside the lovely Opera Bar. Perfect for any budget and the best location in Sydney.

Pubs & Bars

Features

Happy Hour

Drinks

Spirits Champagne Wine Imported Beer on Tap Imported Beer Cocktails Beer on Tap

Disabled Facilities

Wheel Chair Access

Accommodation

No

Food

Lunch Dinner

Entertainment

Live Music

More Pubs & Bars near Sydney, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site