print
  • To Spice Temple
A basement restaurant in Sydney Spice Temple is Neil Perry's latest food venture. Chinese cuisine with many other Asian flavours the food is a mix of fresh, dried, salted, pickled, preserved and fermented. The bar also features an exceptional array of wines - 100 to be exact. 

--TrueLocal description--
A curtain swishing in the wind ? or so it seems (it?s an image on a TV screen on the door) beckons you into the pleasure den below. Take a culinary journey through regional China at Neil Perry?s Spice Temple. Elegant, modern with exquisitely presented dishes. Tried and loved from the menu are stir-fried spinach Sichuan style and steamed eggplant with three flavours (garlic, coriander and sweet pork). More please. You?re likely to spot the celebrity chef flitting between the restaurants in his culinary empire. Don?t save this one for a special occasion, the servings are very generous and the prices much better than you?d think. Take friends to share!

Reviews of Spice Temple

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • Rezyreviews Local Star   19 reviews
    I have been to this restaurant twice, the first was with family for a birthday dinner. My first impression was the restaurant was designed for a more intimate dining experience perhaps for couples. The lighting is quite dark with a single small pendant light above each table which I found annoying when trying to have a conversation with a group of people.

    This first time I went we ordered a few different mains to share across the table, they arrived with in good time and the flavour was amazing, I was impressed straight away with the quality of the plates being served.

    The 2nd time I took my partner and unfortunately we couldn't reserve a table as they were fully booked, we were advised if we arrived at opening time which was 6pm we can get a seat in the bar area and could enjoy the full menu and sit for as long as we liked. Upon arrival we were informed that we could have a table in the restaurant until 8:30pm which was more than enough time. After we sat Down we started our meal with a cocktail each, then we ordered the degustation with matching wines (the best way to dine), every course was delicately presented and it tasted just as good as it looked.

    Two big thumbs up for this place, I would recommend for a special occasion with that special somebody as it is on the expensive side.

    2 days ago - 22/04/2014

  • foodie!!! Newbie   2 reviews
    food and experience was outstanding, the pickled cabbage salad and the ribs were standouts.The lady who served us was lovely even and picked up that it was my partners birthday so at the end of the dinner brought him a cupcake with a candle! fabulous restaurant

    2 weeks ago - 08/04/2014

  • MellyM   5 reviews
    Love this restaurant! I liken to hakkasan in London. Excellent food and wine choices. I've been a few times and the banquet is the way to go to have a good selection of foods.

    8 months ago - 12/08/2013

  • Maryhill   7 reviews
    We spent around $1300 here between us 4. staff spilled beer on my husband and ruined his Armani suit, they didn't offered dry cleaned or any solutions. Food was average. I think it's over rated.

    9 months ago - 09/07/2013

  • J.J   1 review
    Spice Temple is one of the best restaurants in Sydney for good quality food, superb atmosphere and I must not forget to mention the great music!

    11 months ago - 11/05/2013

  • LocalGuy83   38 reviews
    A must try for anyone that likes a good asian style meal with a bit of spice. Whilst it is a little more expensive than your corner shop, it is certainly a lot cheaper than a number of other "known chef" restaurants around Sydney.
    The food is great and is packed full of flavour. There is good range of meals that cater for every ones spice tolerance levels, from very mild to reasonably hot dishes.
    The food is topped off by an excellent atmosphere that makes the experience one that is memorable.
  • DebWilson   6 reviews
    My favourite restaurant in Sydney. Dark, moody, Sexy and the food is fabulous. I love taking out of town friends -they're always impressed. I love how the menu is constantly evolving -theres always something new and yummy. Staff are professional and extremely competent -5 stars to Mr perry
  • zackcat   12 reviews
    I went to the Sydney Spice Temple on a Friday night recently in a group of 6 people and we absolutely loved it.

    They only take 2 dinner sittings, either 6.30pm or 8.30pm, and we opted for the later start time. We arrived just before 8.30pm and as our table wasnt ready we were advised to wait in the bar adjacent to the dining area. The bar area tended to get a little hectic as more 8.30pm diners arrived but the 6.30pm diners still needed to leave. We finally got taken to our table about 9pm, so were pretty hungry by this stage!

    The dining area is very dimly litwalking to our table was a bit like walking into a nightclub. The tables all have very low hanging lights directly over them. I guess this keeps the focus on the food appearance and the taste.

    The waiter was great he knew about all the dishes we asked about and suggested excellent wines for us. He was happy to have a few jokes, but was also very professional and accommodating too.

    The food was amazing.take some risks and try different things, especially some of the hotter dishes. Among many dishes we tried things like the Strange flavour white cut chicken and the Hot and numbing dry Wagyu beef and they were sensational. I think my favourite dish might have been the Beef fillet in fire waterBroth blackened with chilli and Sichuan peppercorn, but it was hard to choose just one favourite.

    We ate an absolute feast and had plenty of wine to drink and I thought the overall bill was really reasonable about $140 a head.

    Thanks Spice Temple..I cant wait to come back again!

    Note - I dont think I would take my elderly parents or children here, but for everyone else it is a great experience. If you want to be seated on time, then the 6.30pm sitting would be a better option. Its also not suitable for disabled people as the entrance involves a long, dimly lit, spiral staircase.
  • WeenieM Local Star   90 reviews
    I LOVE this restaurant! The food is amazing as is the dark, sultry dcor! The lighting in this restaurant is fantastic. Each table has individual lights which drop down low from the ceiling and light up the food in the center of the table but leave faces subtly lit creating a very personal dining experience. It is always very busy yet you are never disturbed by the other tables which you can hardly notice because of the great lighting. All the dishes I have tried have been incredible but some of them are definitely not suitable for those who dont have a love of chilli so beware of those written in red.
  • Tracey.C Foodie   44 reviews
    I visited Spice temple just before Christmas in 2010. It was am amazing experience and the food was fantastic. I would highly recommend the tea-smoked duck breast with pickled cabbage and mustard. I don't normally eat pork - i don't like the consistency - but i tried the roast pork belly with coriander, peanuts and sesame seeds and may just have been converted. It was beautiful. The wine selection is varied - with many good Australian wines (WA being my favourite). They actually have 100 wines on their list - this is apparently to ensure diners experience the 'best possible match for Neil Perrys extraordinary Asian food'. We ordered three mains between two of us and had to take the third one home as there was so much food. The service was impeccable and the staff were very friendly. One thing i would say is that it is not so easy to find from off the street - i walked into 'Rock pool' firstly - as did my friend before finding the right entrance for 'Spice Temple'. I would definitely recommend. I'll be back there - soon i hope.

Opening Hours for Monday:

12:00 PM-3:00 PM
6:00 PM-10:00 PM

Opening Hours for Tuesday:

12:00 PM-3:00 PM
6:00 PM-10:00 PM

Opening Hours for Wednesday:

12:00 PM-3:00 PM
6:00 PM-10:00 PM

Opening Hours for Thursday:

12:00 PM-3:00 PM
6:00 PM-10:00 PM

Opening Hours for Friday:

12:00 PM-3:00 PM
6:00 PM-10:00 PM

Opening Hours for Saturday:

6:00 PM-10:00 PM

Opening Hours for Sunday:

Closed

Cash All Cards Accepted

Restaurants

Cuisine

Asian Chinese

Licensing

Licensed

Features

Bar

Menu

Dinner Lunch

Disabled Facilities

Wheel Chair Access

More Restaurants near Sydney, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd     •    Privacy Policy      •    Staff Guidelines      •    Terms & Conditions      •    View mobile site