OPEN TODAY: 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Mon 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Tue 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Wed 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Thu 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Fri 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Sat 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sun Closed
print
  • To Sydney City Removalists

Professional and Reliable Sydney Removalists. No Travel Time or Call out fees. Call 1300 920 570 NOW!

Sydney City Removalists ... moving home in Sydney has never been easier

  A single flat half hourly rate for our professional Sydney removalists
  Sydney storage and removals all in one place
  NO base-to-base, back-to-base or call out fee of any kind (Sydney Metro)
  Fully insured and trained removalists
  Short term and long term storage in Sydney
  Owner operated removalists
  A fleet of 22 removal trucks and vans
  Clean, well-groomed and uniformed Sydney removalists
  All furniture protected during removalist transit with clean and dry felt  padding
  The skill of over 22 years furniture removals experience on every move
  Sydney removalists, country removals, interstate removals, international and commercial removals


Sydney City Removalists provide an affordable relocation service with a premium level of customer service.  We are owner operated and CARE FOR EACH AND EVERY ONE OF OUR CLIENTS. We go the extra mile to ensure each move goes according to plan.

We have an experienced team who are trained in performing jobs quickly and with the best quality removal service.

So call Sydney City Removalists today on 1300 920 570 to enquire about our competitive removals rates and service. 

Reviews of Sydney City Removalists

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • RedAndWhite Newbie   2 reviews
    RUN AWAY, BABY

    A lot to say so let's bullet point this:
    - after the job tried to repeatedly charge credit card without sending an invoice
    - came to an agreement on price given the issues and discounted slightly
    - charged the card then one month later charged the discount amount with no authorisation without advising
    - upon calling them multiple times, they said the person who handles it was not in, they did not know when they would be in and they have lodged a query blah blah blah you can call them all you want won't do much good

    - promised a "circa 7am" arrival on the day then would not answer phone calls until approximately 9am (turned up at 1030am) - they were not sorry at all and asked if we would like to cancel the job when we had been waiting hours (wish we had)

    - broke wine on a lounge then said it was because it was not packed correctly (wine was packed in wine boxes with dividers, packed as it arrives with couriers + had fragile tape around it) - one box of wine also went missing (may not have been them but funny coincidence) - after we saw how they worked we put aside anything extremely fragile and drove it over ourselves

    - did not use blankets or any protective equipment (stacked the truck with no planning involved and despite being told this is dropped off on the way put it aside (4 times) they put it toward the back, had to do an extra drop off and charged for this)

    As everyone says their phone manner sells them well
    - I must congratulate them on how they have set themselves up and marketed. There are some cheap removalists, some of whom are great but these guys have marketed themselves as premium so you think you will pay more and get better service but this is highly unlikely from them.

    - the only thing they are good at is phone manner before the job and charging credit cards. Very efficient financially.

    2 weeks ago - 04/12/2014

  • Micks_Syd Newbie   2 reviews
    I did a move last month and was charged for the minimum hours upfront. On the day of the move I was told that their credit card machine is "broken" and they would really appreciate if I can pay cash for the remaining amount as we went above the minimum hours. I did as advised and then the next day found out that they have also charged my credit card and now I am out of pocket nearly $300. Have been chasing them for a month now but all I get is that someone will contact me. Extremely frustrated and will be reporting this to the authorities. SCR Never again!

    1 month ago - 18/11/2014

  • ritwik22 Newbie   1 review
    These guys never showed up to do my job even after taking a deposit of 250 AUD and now wouldn't return my calls to sort their mess out. I guess they only prefer bigger clients and hence not at all recommended for moving apartments/homes. They kept shifting my appointment due to other jobs and in the end did not show up.

    2 months ago - 20/10/2014

  • PPoint Newbie   1 review
    Nightmare...damaged the property as well as my washing machine...also overcharged my credit card! They don't answer the calls and e-mails...when they say they'll call Monday - they don't call! They say they'll call in 5 min - no call 2 days later! The worst experience ever!

    2 months ago - 07/10/2014

  • EricBronte Newbie   1 review
    i have used sydney city removalists three times in the last three years since moving from NYC. When i moved over here my company paid for it so the service i got was phenomonal, at a cost... so when i had to pay for my own move i asked a couple of friends and one referred me to SCR. I was cautious at first but when i saw the quote and the professionalism in which it was delivered i was a little more confident. Come move day the movers were well presented, approachable and worked hard to get the move done. I have now referred Scr to four of my wifes friends and no complaints so far. i really hope we dont have to move for a while but when we do Ill be getting scr to help again. Great work guys and all the best.

    4 months ago - 04/08/2014

  • Robbiebobbie Newbie   1 review
    "This company delivered to my neighbour and did extensive damage to my fence. After many phone calls & emails over 6 weeks they were unable or unwilling to get a quote for repair or an insurance assessor on site.

    I have given up and will be out of pocket for over $2000!!!"

    8 months ago - 14/04/2014

  • petes retreat Newbie   1 review
    First time ever i'm happy with a move...
    boxes,packing and moving all done and it was fast and efficient ...not to mention polite... and funny at times.
    nothing broken or missing as well ...
    very happy with all the work done ...
    highly recommend to anybody moving ...
    thanks so much guys job well done...

    9 months ago - 10/03/2014

  • DavTan12 Newbie   1 review
    SCR were super professional. On time, friendly and were really efficient in helping me move. It's hard to find great moving assistance but SRC were on to it, with additional boxes and enough movers to get my whole house done. Would recommend highly! x

    9 months ago - 10/03/2014

  • Tim.R Newbie   1 review
    My move was very difficult and required storage and then a later delivery. From Adam at the warehouse to the 4 men who did the moving it was a great job. I was looked after, given boxes, additional packing help and a great storage rate. The price was more than fair and the results were perfect. Highly recommend this team.
  • Jonathan K Newbie   1 review
    I STRONGLY RECOMMEND YOU DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
    The first time they moved us they sent a truck that was too small, leaving us to do a large part of the move our selves. In addition to this they they then went on to damage several Items of furniture happy to provide photos.

    They then tried to apologise by giving us 25% off our next move ( I should have known better). The move was better, but we were overcharged by over $400 and now many phone calls and 4 weeks later and no one getting back to us, we are getting no where with this company. They are quite happy to take your money but don'ts expect anything to go well there after

    9 months ago - 24/02/2014

  • Anne381 Newbie   1 review
    Check your account after the move. Claimed an extra 10 hours @$1800 that was only picked up by me. 3 days later still waiting on refund. Note there are extra toll charges on top of quoted price.
    • sydcit Newbie 
      Hi Anne, we are terribly sorry about your experience and would like to sincerely apologise for the error on our behalf which caused such an inconvenience to you. To be brief, our lovely driver clicked the pm button on the tablet and not the am so the job showed up at 12 hours and not 2 hrs. We immediately rectified the situation and once again we are very sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We are not perfect however we certainly did not set out to do wrong by you in any way and do hope that you can forgive us for our error.

      Yours truly,

      The Team at SCR

      10/12/2013

      REPORT
    • Anne381 Newbie 
      This error was not immediately rectified. It took 3 days, 2 phone calls and an email before I was even contacted with an apology. I understand mistakes happen but it was the way it was subsequently handled that was most disappointing.

      11/12/2013

      REPORT
  • Gabrielle Aarons Newbie   1 review
    SCR were excellent from beginning to end. There was great communication all along the way from the first home visit to give me a quote, to the emails I received with load of information and confirmation of arrangements.The driver even phoned to tell me he his exact arrival time on the morning of the move. Nothing got broken !!! Lovely polite guys and very quick and efficient. Not the cheapest but certainly reasonable and I'd use them again for peace of mind and efficiency.
  • seek good service Newbie   1 review
    I like their work. I will choose them again
  • Carolyn Louise Newbie   1 review
    The team at Sydney City Removals are a Five Star outfit. They arrived on time, did not waste a minute during the whole days work and their truck presented as brand new.
    I would like to say thank you very much to all the team at Sydney City Removals and can highly recommend the company to anyone looking to move and store.

    Kind regards,

    Carolyn
  • rodas Newbie   1 review
    Moving is always difficult but SCR made my life so easy on move day. I moved recently from Bondi to Manly after 7 years in the East so I had plenty of stuff. The guys were super friendly and really helpful, they took care of my things like they were their own and nothing was too hard or too difficult. I was really impressed by the service and would use them again any day. I highly recomend SCR!!!!
  • Hannah Jackson Newbie   1 review
    Don't use them!
    I should have been warned when they deliberately underquoted me to get my business. They said I only needed 2 movers, not 3 for my move. When I paid my deposit, they recommended 3 movers, which I then paid for. I noticed that every other company I rang recommended 3 movers, as part of their quote.
    I had to hassle them to send me my invoice after I paid. I also ordered my moving materials from them. Half of those materials were dumped at my front door, and I had to chase down the other half of my order.
    I used their packing service. Their packers were an hour late and took cigarette breaks every 10 minutes.
    On the day, they only sent 2 movers, despite my booking for 3 movers. When we made them aware of their error, they only sent a third person for the last 2 hours of the move. The movers didn't use the furniture covers I ordered, and damaged a couch.
    Just use another company.
  • apaull Newbie   1 review
    This was our 1st time using SCR and they did a first class job.
    On time and worked solidly for 10 hours.
    We will use them again
  • Alicia H Newbie   1 review
    This is our second time using SCR and like other reviewers we wouldn't use anyone else now. Trent and his team were on time, fast and professional. Even though our house was challenging to navigate they did it smiling.
    Jenny was an amazing packer and did a whole house in less than a day - worth every cent! Their unpackers are worth it too even if just for the minimum 4 hours, trust me!
  • 2028anne Newbie   1 review
    Our family has used the boys twice in a month. One huge move, one two men and a truck job. Both times the teams were excellent...punctual, careful, tidy, professional and friendly. I used the two lads to rearrange some huge furniture and then transport a few pieces to our sister's house. We have NO hesitation in recommending SCR for any size job. A pleasure to deal with on every level. Thank you!
  • PS Rocco Newbie   1 review
    June 9 - We have used SCR twice and would use them again (if heaven forbid we should move again!) First move from Northern Beaches to Sydney and second move from Sydney to Southern Highlands. Both times the "Boss" was Sam - he's organized, efficient and works non-stop - even on a 9 hour day! Highly recommend SCR and Sam the Man.

  • Sam Maitland Newbie   1 review
    Sydney City Removalists are the only company I will use from now on!
    I have moved 6 times in 4 years. The last 2 moves with SCR and wont go back to using anyone else. They were efficient and careful with my belongings. They charge by the hour and at a great rate in comparison to others. The office person I dealt with on both times was clear and quick to get quote and times to me. The guys on the day were just nice guys who obviously take a bit of pride in what they do.

    Ill be using them again thats for SURE!
  • Brett McAuliffe Newbie   1 review
    (6 June 2013) I found SCR (Sydney City Removals) on the internet. I was needing advice and a quote to move to Perth from North Sydney. I saw mostly great reviews on Truelocal, and a couple bad reviews that lacked detail, but I still got suspicious. Its easy to embellish when writing negative comments on the internet when you are angry, and don't use your real name and a real picture. Comments from people like that lack the necessary transparency and accountability in my opinion. Having said that, I do trust this website, as I believe many comments are genuine. I rang and asked to speak to the Managing Director specifically. Looking at the picture of the staff with the Harbour Bridge in the background and reading the comments, I estimated that this removals business was a genuine "Aussie" "from a grass roots" type of affair, and that the guy at the top was most likely the owner responsible for building it. I explained that I was a little concerned about the professionalism and capability of his staff having just read a recent negative review.

    I told him that my furniture and belongings were insured with Allianz for $60k, and that I need someone that can be careful and efficient, no muppets. I told him that I live in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 20th floor of a security building in North Sydney. Ben explained his moving process in detail. He had the recommendations and described his relationships that to me sounded like an-end-to-end solution, from suggested temporary storage to third-party interstate transport. He was very open about discussing the negative review that I raised with him on the phone. I was actually surprised that he didn't say anything too scathing. I got enough detail out of him to be more than comfortable in deciding to use SCR services. After I decided that I could trust them, I asked to meet Ben (I like to press the flesh, its my way of doing transactions that are important to me). Well we did meet, last week and this week. He's actually a friendly fella as well. His guys are coming next week to move me into storage. I did my due diligence, SCR are highly recommended. Brett
    • Peter Hancock Newbie 
      Hi Brett, like you I am looking to move to Perth. I was interested in your comment along wiht others comments but I have one question did you stuff actually get to Perth and was it alright?. This is the first time I am actually having to need someone to move such a distance and I have heard all the horror stories because it is a long way between here and Perth. I am finding with most companies it seems to be hit and miss and I don't want to risk some of my music equipment getting damaged as I use it in my work, I don't want an experience like a previous poster LTan so if you can help that would be great.

      22/06/2013

      REPORT
  • JSM Rose Bay Newbie   1 review
    We had a great experience with SCR. Right from the start, Ben provided us with friendly and professional support 7 days a week and until late, whether it was quoting, ad hoc queries, getting more boxes or how to move that difficult piano. On the day, the moving team was friendly, positive and had the grunt to help move us up a lot of stairs without complaint. They were great and just kept going. We would recommend them highly.
  • lee2131 Newbie   1 review
    Without a doubt the worst service I have ever had. Initially I was extremely pleased with the guys that came and moved my stuff. They were prompt, friendly, and professional and I was happy to recommend them to all of my friends. But when I saw I had been over charged $600 I called to let them know a mistake had been made, even then I felt it was some misunderstanding that would easily be taken care of. 5 months later after no one returned my phone calls or emails and after nsw fair trading had set a court date they finally emailed me to say they would give me my money back at which point they still tried to keep an extra $200. It took them another 2 weeks to refund me. I will definitely be avoiding this company in the future and warning anyone and everyone against them.
    • sydcit Newbie 
      Thank you for your feedback. In our industry one of the hardest things to master is bringing a great moving experience on the day and backing it up with quality service. It is a pity that in this instance our back office let you down after such a great move. We are glad to hear "extremely pleased with the guys". This is testament to the quality of our gents on the road and the operational experience of our operations team. We are deeply sorry to hear that this took so long to solve and rest assured this issue has been resolved with new fail safes put in place to ensure this lack of communication does not effect any one in the future. We move more than 3000 families every year in Sydney and we have a wealth of happy clients whom we are grateful for your support through referrals and repeat business. Moving is about the people in our trucks and the people in our office and whilst we may have failed in the post move service here, we have definitely learnt our lesson. Happy moving!

      23/07/2013

      REPORT
  • anealon Newbie   1 review
    We were very impressed with the guys and the move experience they were very professional and it went very smoothly.
    I would definitely recommend Syd City Removalists. They took great care with our stuff and were highly organised and proactive.
  • RR8 Newbie   1 review
    Everything from my initial contact with Ben, to the two removalists that showed up on the day, it was easy. On time, careful and friendly. They turned an ordeal into a pleasant experience. Would definitely use them again.

    Reg
  • Stoiven Newbie   1 review
    These guys were fantastic. From booking a move/storage job with a very funny guy who cracked me up through to the two supernaturally strong blokes who did the removal in torrential rain and under very trying conditions, their service was top knotch. Great care was taken to protect our belongings and the whole experience was so well executed that we ordered an end of lease cleaning job through them as well. Good, fair rates and high quality work. Moving really sucks but they made it much less painless.
  • miggle   2 reviews
    They charged for 3 hours even though the move even took 2. I was even in the drive way when they turned up and I timed it myself. Unreliable and never returned calls. Guys who came out on the day for the job were pleasant/professional however.
  • nimak Newbie   1 review
    We were somehow scared of removalists before as we had heard scary stories from our friends but guys (Roy and his colleague) from Sydney City Removalists did a great job. They were really professional in their work and attitude. They did not damage a single item and also did the whole job in a very timely and efficient manner. they arrived at 7:30am and finished a 2-bedroom move by 2:30pm. Their job is very difficult and they remained very positive throughout the whole day. we feel lucky that we had this company doing our move. I chose this company after reading reviews and I thought I should have an input for such professional hardworking people.
  • Piptyler Newbie   1 review
    From the very beginning when their guy knocked on our door to the actual day of the move, everything was REALLY professionally done. Dealing with Ben one of the owners to the driver & main man, Henry, it was great. We had pre-packing the day before the move & then unpacking afterwards. If we hadn't of had these extra services we would still be up to our ears in unpacking. However, all done & happy as larry. Well done SCR team. A big thank you.
  • lindacrossr22   3 reviews
    very happy with there profesionalism. they did all the lifting and the men were very careful not to damage anything. after our move none of our things were damaged which i am very happy with. well done.
  • dawn2011 Newbie   1 review
    After a horrible experience with a smaller company for the last move , we decided to choose a larger , more experienced moving company. SCR were recommended to us by the real estate company.

    From the moment Amber rang me back to discuss quote i knew we had made the right choice.

    Amber was fantastic, professional, left no detail out and made us feel very relaxed that everything would run smoothly.

    Issac arrived on time and completed the job in record speed , not once did I see him with out a smile, despite the scorching temps.

    Issac was fantastic, the whole move went super fast, he was very careful with furniture and boxes. Everything was in tact when the boxes were unpacked. Extremely professional ( & strong )

    Thank you SCR for making the move so stress free. We will be recommending you to anyone we know who is moving in the future

    Dawn & Rachel, Woolloomooloo :-)
  • Alex Kilpatrick Newbie   1 review
    SCR helped me move a load of furniture and art supplies from Eveleigh to four different locations around the city. They were fast and efficient and very careful with our goods. It was a truly difficult job and two guys worked really hard in the heat of the day to get the job done. We achieved all of our goals and had no dramas in completing the job- well done SCR!
  • LTan Newbie   1 review
    Very disappointed with the service by Sydney City Removalists. The packers and movers were great - they worked quickly and tirelessly to get our move done. The big issue was with the after-service. During the move, one wardrobe was completely destroyed, a valuable artwork went missing and various smaller items were damaged. I was only told of this after the truck had returned to depot with the items. I immediately asked SCR for some photos as evidence of the damage so that I could claim compensation from my insurance. Such a simple thing to do. More then 10 phone call and emails later no one has bothered to get back to me. In addition, SCR overcharged us by $250 and took payment without my consent using our credit card details that I supplied previously for the deposit required for booking the move. Their casual response verbatim was "it (would) just be a bank surcharge". At no point prior to payment was I informed that there would be a bank surcharge applied. They have refused any further action so now our credit card company has opened a case against them.
  • customerlizzy Newbie   1 review
    Sydney City Removalists gave me the worst experience in moving I should say. I was called regularly by these people before I even got a rental property and once I arranged everything with them and the day came for my moving, the things started becoming so bad that I didn't know what to do. The time they took were almost 6 hours for a small one bedroom furniture items. The damage they caused while moving the stuff was a lot, including breaking the glass of the house from which I was moving and chipping of my new furniture and finally breaking my treadmill which can't be fixed in any way thanks to them. I paid for two guys but only one will work well and the other one just cleans the truck and enjoys the music in the truck. The call out fees was paid before the move, still they charged me extra half hour for the move. Also the toll charges are 68.00 though the truck came from Sydney not inter state. I tried to report the damages and the huge charges to the management of SCR but the only reply I keep on getting is 'we are investigating" for the last two months. I had to pay 1000 for my small move. So beware when someone hires the SCR people. Finalize the cost first and then go ahead if you're happy and ask them for two skilled moving people for removal. Just sharing for you to save some dollars. Thanks
  • Maurice Mathis Newbie   1 review
    We used SCR to move our shipment of belongings from our freight forwarders to our new home. We can't praise the workers enough for their great customer service and professionalism. Always proactive phone calls keep us informed.

    There was a snafu in the shippers paperwork which threatened to delay our delivery. SCR did whatever needed to be done, picked up our shipment at the port and got it to us on time - something so rare these days.

    We will definitely recommend them to friends and certainly use them again for our next move. And that's the highest accolade we can give.

    Thanks again, guys,

    Maurice & Rachel

  • tbrucette   4 reviews
    Overall very happy with SCR we used them again this year to move from Brookvale back to Paddington. This time we had a lot more furniture (new addition to the family) and we needed the packing service. Jenny came to our house the day before the move and worked efficiently all day with my partner and the place was ready to go on moving day. Moving day went very well although there was a slight delay in the traffic with a jam on the bridge but these things happen. The trck size was larger than last time so we only had to do one trip. The staff were very helpful and will certainly be recommending SCR to friends and family although fingers crossed we dont have to move again for a few years.

    Thanks again.
  • simmipp   2 reviews
    Thanks to SCR for our move from Bronte in September. We have moved many times in the past and with mixed results but our recent move with SCR was by far the least stressful and although not the cheapest quote we recieved were happy to proceed with the pre sale service and then the movers themselves were fantastic. Greg and Greg woreked hard all day and the packing made my life a lot easier.

    Happy to recommend SCR for anyone moving.

    Simmi and Eric, Bronte
  • burntpie Newbie   2 reviews
    Disappointed.When I booked the mover I did so very clearly on the proviso they would perform a balcony lift for me. I was told yes. I was also told I would have to pay for three men per hour and not two, as two alone couldn't do a lift, so I did. The three men showed up with no knowledge and no equipment to do a lift. When I called and finally spoke to someone who booked me she told me that it was on their job sheet. It was not. After a lot of phone calls I had to move WITHOUT my couch and it was left in the apartment. After asking if they would accept any responsibility for this in way of a discount or paying for another provide to make the lift they promised I was told no. It cost me several hundred dollars more to do the service they had promised me. Also the pre-packing service was sub par as I had to revisit my place and found four drawers unpacked and bits and pieces just left in most my kitchen cupboards. Terribly overpriced for what they offer, disappointing as I booked them on the basis of their glowing testimonials, they they have put on their website of course. Most ridiculously expensive and stressful move I have ever made, never again.
  • James_L Newbie   1 review
    SCR helped us move a few weeks back. I was impressed when I first called them becuase they seemed to ask intelligent questions about our move. Some of our items were unique and quite heavy. Looking at them work, I was happy I was not doing the lifting. Towards the middle of the truck loading, the team leader suggested that with the amount of items (and we had alot), there was a chance we might not get everything across that day and would I like to have another person to help. They arranged an additional helper, who arrived just 20 minutes later. Everything pretty muich went smooth. The only casualty was a broken photo frame, but that's becuase I dropped it myself. Best to leave stuff like that to the professionals. The guys worked really hard I felt. Although I don't plan on moving again soon, I would definately use them again.

Visa Direct Deposit MasterCard EFT Cheque Cash All Cards Accepted AMEX

Removalists

Service Options

Packing & Wrapping Dismantling Fine Art & Antique Removal Valet Insurance Household Long Distance Office Unpacking Storage Cleaning Pet Transportation Assembling

  • ACN: 146 075 925
  • ABN: 73 146 075 925

More Removalists near Waverley, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site