print
  • To The Grounds

Reviews of The Grounds

Review guidelines

All reviews and comments are screened by our team of moderators who work around the clock. We publish, reject, edit and remove reviews and comments at our discretion.

We accept reviews and comments which appear to be legitimate, honest and based on first-hand experiences with businesses.

We reject reviews and comments if they:

  • Don’t appear to be based on a genuine experience.
  • Contain swear words.
  • Contain offensive or derogatory material (including anything racist, sexist or homophobic).
  • Falsely or unjustly damage someone’s reputation.
  • Contain allegations of medical malpractice.
  • Contain allegations of illegal activity.
  • Contain allegations of food poisoning.
  • Are written by a business owner about a competitor.
  • Are based on rumour or second-hand info.
  • Include details of a current court case.

Our decision to reject a review or comment is final and no further correspondence will be entered into. Read our complete review guidelines here.

  • trewsie   15 reviews
    Nice coffee and pastries but the wait for take away coffee is a little too long. They could do with an extra coffee station. The facilities for kids are really good. The freshly made donuts were a big hit but they are a little bit expensive at $3.50 each considering they are only mini donuts.

    1 month ago - 11/08/2014

  • veryveryprettykate   5 reviews
    I love this restaurant, food was great and staff were nice. Lovely little stalls out side is also enjoyable in both look and taste of some cake. But it was hassel to look around the parking area.

    2 months ago - 05/07/2014

  • AnthonyJ1 Newbie   2 reviews
    Ok, we liked the atmosphere the vibe, but overall for a family of 4 it was very stressfull, took us 40 minute drive to get there, another 15 minutes to find a park, 30 minutes to get coffee, 20 minutes to get a few doughnouts for the kids and an hour wait just to get a seat for lunch. Our table was bumped by everyone that walked by. Sorry but its not a relaxed oasis but a very busy noisy and stressful piece of industial land.
    The shopping at the italian goods shop was very very expensive, most goods we can get for almost half price, 200g of salami & 200gm of chesse was $22 yes $22 DOLLARS, first and last visit

    2 months ago - 24/06/2014

  • scallywaggle   12 reviews
    I love this place -before abour 8 on the weekends it is a lovley relaxed oasis. After that, it is a bit crazy busy, but still fun. Having a sprog in tow, I now prefer eating in their outdoor area, where we can go visit the animals ( chooks and pigs) if restlessness strikes. The food options are limited, with little stalls to choose from but still great quality and the coffee is always good here. Great little play area too!

    4 months ago - 07/05/2014

  • starwoman8 Local Star   737 reviews
    I enjoyed a leisurely week day lunch in the gorgeous grounds. I have heard of the weekend queues and have no patience for them. It's a lovely place to enjoy a meal and the food is lovely overall. It's one part eaterie, one part organic farm and there's even some cute animals on the grounds. It's definitely worth exploring. Come during the week or book ahead for a weekend.

    4 months ago - 01/05/2014

  • nezk   8 reviews
    Been here for both lunch & breakfast. Lunch, didn't wait too long and enjoyed my meal. Although very crowded and hard to get in/out of your table, especially with a toddler. went for breakfast on a saturday (bad mistake) - extremely busy, waited about 1.5 hours for a table. luckily they have a small playground, otherwise my child would've turned demon. loved the nutella-filled donuts - AMAZING. breakfast was good, but not worth waiting that long for. i probably would've enjoyed it more if i went during the week.

    5 months ago - 15/04/2014

  • Amanda Bathani Newbie   2 reviews
    I usually enjoy having my breakfast at the grounds until yesterday, we were 10 mins late for brekky so we had lunch instead. I ordered king prawn linguine that I couldn't eat! the prawns did not smell nice and the combination of the whole dish was poor! I had to swap my dish meal with my husband who ordered chicken schnitzel. the chicken was OK not much flavour. and on top of this we were seated at a rusty table which left two big marks of rust on my husbands elbow shirt! I left the grounds with big disappointment.

    6 months ago - 19/02/2014

  • KingEatingChamp Local Star   22 reviews
    Overall not bad experience on my first lunch here. Apart from the blistering sun, loved the garden/organic farm theme throughout the place. Food was good; coffee great; ambience great, but the wait is terrible. I guess you gotta wait for places as hot as this. Might go back when the weather is cooler.

    8 months ago - 23/12/2013

  • Easternian Local Star   626 reviews
    Me and my friend finally revisited The Grounds of Alexandria for a weekday lunch after our previous failed attempt on getting a table for brunch on an early Sunday afternoon a few weeks back where we were expected to wait for just shy of two hours. The takeaway line was also long and there was practically no more seats available at the garden.
    This time it was a little bit better. We waited for around 45 minutes for a table whilst enjoying lemonade we bought from one of the kiosks nearby and sat on the garden enjoying the sun.

    The staffs were all friendly and attentive, from the girl who took our name on the waiting list, the guy who took us to our seats, and the servers who were incredibly friendly, attentive, and very knowledgeable with their food offerings.

    The place was an absolute dcor-fest with multiple sections compiling the otherwise large dining area and whilst it was very busy (I seem to be blocking the staffs in many occasions while taking pictures of the place!) it was in no way cramped or feel under-spaced.

    I tried their mushroom tart (king, swiss brown and oyster mushroom tart with buffalo mozzarella). The tart was beautifully made and the mushroom toppings matched nicely with the mozzarella.

    My friend ordered the hand-made parpadelle (slow braised lamb, pear and extra virgin olive oil) that came with generous serving size and was beautifully made as well, with original homemade-like taste.

    Of course we had to try the chips. It was of large cuts and came with a special mayonnaise-thousand island fusion sauce similar to the ones you find at Grilld. Delicious.

    All in all, it was probably the most expensive casual launch we have paid for in a long time. We were just lucky that all the stars seemed to be lining up when we visited this place.

    11 months ago - 27/09/2013

  • adutch Newbie   1 review
    Oh where to start... Was excited about going here but what a disappointment. A massive fail for me on all fronts except the ambiance. First of all the wait... We were told there was a 40 minute wait. After an hour and 10 minutes we finally got our table, 10 minutes too late to order breakfast... Lunch it is then. The coffee was ok but not great. I expected a great cup. The food looked good but for a 19 dollar burger I expected a nice juicy burger with lots of flavour. The meat was dry and way too much sauce on it. Worst of all the bread was like charcoal on the bottom.Pitch black.By this time we were hungry so I cut the bottom of the burger bun, and ate it. The staff seemed to be uninterested possibly because it was just too busy. I won't be back.
  • ArtJ   5 reviews
    Good coffee, average food. Meal size small. but overrated and pretentious service.
  • Kat Stanley   2 reviews
    This is the place that all the others are trying to be. They do it so well and so effortlessly. And they have the best coffee in Sydney! Check it out!
  • bronr   2 reviews
    My new favourite cafe. Admittedly we went during the week so it wasn't as busy as weekends but we were seated immediately. Fabulous looking place and great concept and atmosphere.The service and the food were outstanding. We had a lovely waitress (Riley) who was incredibly friendly and helpful. The service was prompt, the food was fresh and delicious and we really look forward to going back for breakfast next week.
  • lil_phynx   2 reviews
    Love this place but hates the queue. Been here many times, the foods are great especially the burger, and if you can't get in you can always order from the take away menu and have it in their garden with a rustic feel. The ambiance on weekend is really great, there is a small market with a few stalls selling fresh cheese , organic veggies,and other food options if u can't get into the cafe. There are also live music and animal corner for kids to pet a number of cute little farm animals on the weekend.
  • beanboy Cafe Crowd   309 reviews
    I've tried twice now to dine at this place, but the queues between 10am-2pm are crazy, sometimes over 45 minutes to be seated. However third time lucky, we went at 3pm and walked straight in, keep in mind though the kitchen closes at 330pm sharp, but their still open for coffee/cakes. The service was good, quite attentive, and the food was delish, the venue itself is the real winner here, its extremely homely.
    I highly recommend it.
  • KGirl Local Star   315 reviews
    Amazing! Love this place! Really great brekkie, freshly squeezed orange juice. Although they don't do Eggs Benedict which was a downer but I still enjoyed it!
  • Cee Zee Local Star   278 reviews
    The Grounds is a great vision. As you enter the gate, you realise the scale of this place. There is a big kitchen garden, a coffee roasting section, a bakery and a cafe. The cafe was heaving while we were there and we were greeted by a really nice and attentive waiter at the door. Now my expectations here are high. When you roast your own coffee on site, you would expect the coffee to be amazing but it was awful. If someone orders a long black or short black and there is no crema and all you can see is black coffee, then don't serve it. We also have some pastries from the bakery which were delicious but apart from the first guy that showed us to a table, the rest of the service was horrible. Great concept and space but the service needs some work.

More Cafes near Alexandria, NSW

© Copyright Australian Local Search Pty Ltd Privacy Policy Staff Guidelines Terms & Conditions View mobile site