<img height="1" width="1" style="display:none" src="https://www.facebook.com/tr?id=1210540665669351&ev=PageView&noscript=1" />

Hotels

The Lucky Hotel

9 Reviews
(02) 4925 8888

237 Hunter St

Newcastle, NSW, 2300

237 Hunter St

Newcastle, NSW, 2300

The Lucky Hotel

Whilst retaining the charm of its past, The Lucky is leading the way into the future of dining experiences in Newcastle. Offering mouthwatering delights, our BBQ Pit Master is sure to satisfy all taste buds with the finest quality cuts and in-house smoked specialties.

The venue stays true to its grand history dating back to the 1800s with the restoration of its original facade and the salvage of the heritage building's exposed brickwork and raw iron beams. Contrasted against a trendy fit out of elegant modern designs and features, this prominent destination offers a luminous mix of old and new.

With enticing food, heavenly cocktails, a delectable variety of beer and wine and a charming atmosphere, The Lucky is unlike any other offering and is bound to win the hearts of Newcastle locals and visitors alike.
...read more

Contact details

Functions

  • Launches
  • Hen Parties
  • Club Events
  • Christmas Parties
  • Birthday Parties
  • Private Parties
  • View more (2)

Rooms

  • Family
  • Twin
  • Double
  • Single

FoxSports

  • Licensed FoxSports Broadcaster

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Common Area/Lounge
  • Bar
  • Restaurant or Cafe
  • Iron & Ironing Board
  • Internet
  • View more (1)

Type

  • Budget
  • Boutique

Payment options

  • Cash
  • Visa
  • EFTPOS
  • MasterCard
  • AMEX

Disabled Facilities

  • Wheel Chair Access

REVIEWS (9)

Very good
2
Good
1
Average
1
Poor
1
Very poor
4

Tell people what you think.

Help others by sharing your experience with this business.

Mega Book Lover
local star
1849 Reviews
6 months AGO

Sometimes a dark pub can be annoying, but sometimes, like the case with this pub, it can actually be really charming. In fact the charm of this place was what really grabbed my attention. Sure, it was a little difficult to get to with all the construction going on, but that is really only a short term problem, and no doubt that will come to an end in the not too distant future. I found the place quite friendly and relaxing, and would have no problems coming back.

AliFeilds
OVER 5 years AGO

The decor is lovely! But I don't believe I'll return for the food. I ordered the salmon special which essentially was some smoked salmon, a few slices of cold potato and capsicum squished into a glasses and plopped out for presentation. I hate capsicum and had I actually seen that it had it in it I would not have ordered it. Instead of fancy names on your specials board (which the staff don't even understand as I asked about a few and they had to go to chefs for answers) maybe spell out what's in it in case someone has an allergy. I pretty much had 5 mouth fills of cold smoked salmon and cold potato for $18. I made a trip to maccas afterwards cause I was still hungry. I thought since you guys did primarily american style food the portion sizes might have been a little bigger. Plus we had staff add more tables around us when a lot of customers were already squished in.

shellybeans
OVER 5 years AGO

Amazing food
Great atmosphere
Wonderful staff
5 stars all round!

Budalo
OVER 6 years AGO

Very disappointed. Went to the newly renovated lucky country for dinner with a couple of friends. After being seated and having view the menu, I decided on the full rack of pork ribs and my 2 friends opted for the half rack each. After only 25-30mins our meals arrived, firstly 1 half rack ? Then 2 quarter racks of ribs ? I questioned the wait staff about the meals and assured them that we had ordered the full rack and 2 halves and to my surprise the incorrectly sized portion were in fact the meals we ordered. At $39 for the full rack and only being 6-8 ribs in total I think the lucky country really needs to educate themselves in regards to portion size. The 'full' rack that they are serving is incorrectly sized especially for the price. Lift your game if you expecting repeat business in Newcastle. Word of mouth spreads quickly.

The Lucky
OVER 6 years AGO

Hi Budalo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. The portion sizes that The Lucky serves are not based on the number of ribs per rack, rather they are based on weight (750grams for a full rack of pork ribs) in order to ensure every customer receives the same serving size. All ribs that are served at The Lucky are delivered 100% fresh by premium Australian butchers rather than cheaper semi pre-cooked alternatives as many other venues offer.



I have passed your feedback on to the kitchen to ensure that our serving sizes are consistent and in line with the pricing.



The Lucky Team

FoodConnoisseur
OVER 6 years AGO

After waiting at the front of the line to be seated at a table for 2 for half an hour (which was fine given it was a busy Saturday night) a group of scantily clad young people arrived looking for a table for 10. From this point on we were ignored and not to be acknowledged again. These people were seated first when there was clearly more than 1 table for 2 and finding a table to accommodate 10 involved rearranging 3/4 of the venue including moving 5 tables that would have suited our purpose. After a brief blow up, we left in disgust, disgraced by the nature of the place and the person allocating seats. I wouldn't be surprised if we were still waiting for a seat now if we hadn't left. I am unable comment on the food but hope that the dining experience improves once you actually get a seat.

The Lucky
OVER 6 years AGO

Thank you for your feedback. Although we are no longer taking reservations, we still have a number of bookings that were taken when we initially opened that we will continue to honour over the next coming weeks. On Saturday night, we had a number of bookings, including the party of 10 that were seated before you. Although we do not like our customers waiting at great lengths to be seated, our busy nights can see waiting times for a table of up to one hour due to how busy we are. We must commit to seating these reservations first and depending on their booking time, we often have to quickly rearrange furniture to accommodate for them after the last party has left. We apologise that this was not explained to you on the evening and we have spoken to our front of house team to ensure that this doesn't happen again. We hope you decide to give The Lucky another chance so we can seat you as quickly as possible in order for you to try our American inspired dishes. ...read more

FoodConnoisseur
OVER 6 years AGO

Thanks for your reply but the key points seem to be missed. We were first, ahead of the group, before their booking time and ignored. Busy or not, you can't excuse poor service.

SIMILAR IN THE AREA

  • Hotels 0.17 km

    Chifley Apartments Newcastle

    Newcastle
    No Reviews Yet

    Currently open

    12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

  • Hotels 0.24 km

    The Sebel Newcastle Beach Hotel

    Newcastle
    No Reviews Yet
1 2

OTHER NEARBY SERVICES

  • sponsored listing
    Insurance 0.43 km

    Carpet Retailers Insurance Brokers

    Newcastle
    14 Reviews

    Open today

    8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

  • sponsored listing
    Restaurants 0.48 km

    Scratchleys On The Wharf

    Newcastle
    14 Reviews
  • sponsored listing
    Restaurants 2.07 km

    Mucho's Mexican

    The Junction
    13 Reviews
  • sponsored listing
    Cafes 0.77 km

    Goldberg's Coffee House

    Cooks Hill
    10 Reviews

    Open today

    7:00 AM - 12:00 AM

1 2
BESbswy